Fire fitting possible with this?

Joined
18 Feb 2006
Messages
1,575
Reaction score
18
Location
Birmingham
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all

I’ve got a gazco logic he that I’m want to get fitted. I cut the fire place back panel as it was solid and needed chimney sweeping but found a flue liner in there as per picture.

Question is can this fire be fitted with this or do I need to get another fire. Asking before I call a gas man out to do the job.

Thanks
 

Attachments

  • iOS Image - 2868097314.jpg
    iOS Image - 2868097314.jpg
    469.9 KB · Views: 78
Sponsored Links
Joined
4 Oct 2012
Messages
9,118
Reaction score
2,705
Location
East Renfrewshire
Country
United Kingdom
You will need a chimney man out too. That liner needs secured (should have been already) by either a closure plate or flaunching and the terminal at the top checked as secure and suitable for a class 1/2.

If that's all sorted out then the Gazco should be fine as long as the opening dimensions are suitable and it and the chimney/ventilation etc meets all the required specs but your GSRE should keep you right with all that.
 
Joined
18 Feb 2006
Messages
1,575
Reaction score
18
Location
Birmingham
Country
United Kingdom
You will need a chimney man out too. That liner needs secured (should have been already) by either a closure plate or flaunching and the terminal at the top checked as secure and suitable for a class 1/2.

If that's all sorted out then the Gazco should be fine as long as the opening dimensions are suitable and it and the chimney/ventilation etc meets all the required specs but your GSRE should keep you right with all that.
Hi

Thanks for that.

I’ll find a chimney man to come and sort the closure plate first then before I get the gas man to fit it. The dimension are fine once the old open fire bricks are removed which the chimney man would need to do before fitting pate I guess
 
Joined
4 Oct 2012
Messages
9,118
Reaction score
2,705
Location
East Renfrewshire
Country
United Kingdom
Only remove the brick and knee/chair if it's an absolute must to obtain the dimensions for the hot box and catchment/combustibles, even then with a liner and plate and a proper terminal the catchment probably wouldn't really be needed.
 
Joined
18 Feb 2006
Messages
1,575
Reaction score
18
Location
Birmingham
Country
United Kingdom
Only remove the brick and knee/chair if it's an absolute must to obtain the dimensions for the hot box and catchment/combustibles, even then with a liner and plate and a proper terminal the catchment probably wouldn't really be needed.
If I remember correctly the old bricks needed removing as it didn’t meet the minimum dimensions, but will leave for gas man to sort
 
Joined
4 Oct 2012
Messages
9,118
Reaction score
2,705
Location
East Renfrewshire
Country
United Kingdom
You should be able to gauge the dimensions required, just go a look for the installation instructions and do some measurements, easy enough to see. That fire though is different I believe, depending on what fuel effect you wish to use, the log effect is deeper I think
 
Joined
18 Feb 2006
Messages
1,575
Reaction score
18
Location
Birmingham
Country
United Kingdom
You should be able to gauge the dimensions required, just go a look for the installation instructions and do some measurements, easy enough to see. That fire though is different I believe, depending on what fuel effect you wish to use, the log effect is deeper I think
Will do, thank you.
I have the manual so will do some measuring. It’s the coal model not the log one
 
Sponsored Links
Joined
16 Jan 2012
Messages
9,818
Reaction score
2,036
Location
Uk
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all

I’ve got a gazco logic he that I’m want to get fitted. I cut the fire place back panel as it was solid and needed chimney sweeping but found a flue liner in there as per picture.

Question is can this fire be fitted with this or do I need to get another fire. Asking before I call a gas man out to do the job.

Thanks
You will need a chimney man out too. That liner needs secured (should have been already) by either a closure plate or flaunching and the terminal at the top checked as secure and suitable for a class 1/2.

If that's all sorted out then the Gazco should be fine as long as the opening dimensions are suitable and it and the chimney/ventilation etc meets all the required specs but your GSRE should keep you right with all that.


NO!

You can only re-use an existing liner if you are confident that the liner will last the lifetime if the new appliance. Which, in this case, you cannot be so. Ergo, that liner needs pulling out.

The position of the liner suggests that it has become detached from its security at the top. Most guys, I suggest, will just pull it out through the room. I NEVER did that - there may well be fibreglass (or even old cement bags) placed to fill the annular space between the liner and the chimney immediately before the terminal. This MUST be removed, otherwise it can block the flue, and will certainly create a resistance. (Pulling through the room is also incredibly messy)

Does the fire REQUIRE a liner ? Most don't.

So: Seal the opening temporarily. Remove the terminal, remove liner (via the roof, if it can be reached, as it has moved). Clear all packing, if present. Determine whether the fire NEEDS a liner and proceed accordingly. If a liner is not a necessity, the flue need to be smoke tested, and visually inspected.
 
Last edited:
Joined
4 Oct 2012
Messages
9,118
Reaction score
2,705
Location
East Renfrewshire
Country
United Kingdom
My understanding was that if it was S/S and fully checked top to bottom that it could be re-used, as they have an expected life of up to 20yrs?Unless they show signs of deterioration which would be picked up by that inspection and testing??

If not then my apologies to the OP and a new piece of info that I need to take back to ACS centre, as that was a specific question that was raised during re-tests.
 
Joined
16 Jan 2012
Messages
9,818
Reaction score
2,036
Location
Uk
Country
United Kingdom
Hi

Thanks for that.

I’ll find a chimney man to come and sort the closure plate first then before I get the gas man to fit it. The dimension are fine once the old open fire bricks are removed which the chimney man would need to do before fitting pate I guess


Don't get a "chimney man", they generally have no clue about gas fires and the requirements. Get an RGI with a gas fire ticket that has actual experience. Get him to quote for the work, and he should tell you whether you need to engage someone else to do the construction bit (to his instructions) prior to his work (I would have quoted for everything in that job.)
 
Last edited:
Joined
16 Jan 2012
Messages
9,818
Reaction score
2,036
Location
Uk
Country
United Kingdom
My understanding was that if it was S/S and fully checked top to bottom that it could be re-used, as they have an expected life of up to 20yrs?Unless they show signs of deterioration which would be picked up by that inspection and testing??

If not then my apologies to the OP and a new piece of info that I need to take back to ACS centre, as that was a specific question that was raised during re-tests.

The only way to check the flue properly is to remove it! Once removed, it would be madness (IMO) to put it back and promise the punter that that it will "last the lifetime of the appliance". Also, most fires do nit need a liner, so it is best taken out anyway. One could argue that you can seal the top and bottom if the flue liner and test with a smoke pellet but, again the procedure is massively time consuming and therefore expensive, and at best you can only say that there is no leak today - you cannot comment on the state of existing corrosion.

In practice, they tend to be heavily corroded towards the top of the liner.

And that liner has dropped from the terminal
 
Joined
4 Oct 2012
Messages
9,118
Reaction score
2,705
Location
East Renfrewshire
Country
United Kingdom
Also, most fires do nit need a liner, so it is best taken out anyway

I wouldn't normally say it's the fire that needs the liner (unless its an appliance or similar that needs a direct flue connection) but more so the chimney is no longer viable (due to age etc) and a SS liner is the easiest way to deliver a solution without re-casting.

I think it's a bit harsh though to say most chimney specialists (men) don't have a clue about gas fires and their requirements, I know a couple up here in the central belt that work closely with RGI's and HETAS chaps to deliver an end to end solution and do their job superbly.
 
Joined
16 Jan 2012
Messages
9,818
Reaction score
2,036
Location
Uk
Country
United Kingdom
I wouldn't normally say it's the fire that needs the liner (unless its an appliance or similar that needs a direct flue connection) but more so the chimney is no longer viable (due to age etc) and a SS liner is the easiest way to deliver a solution without re-casting.

I think it's a bit harsh though to say most chimney specialists (men) don't have a clue about gas fires and their requirements, I know a couple up here in the central belt that work closely with RGI's and HETAS chaps to deliver an end to end solution and do their job superbly.

Re the liner: some fires demand a liner, but must don't. Some installations require a liner, by virtue of the flue height and whether it is on an external wall. Others, as you intimated, require a liner due to
the condition. But IF the liner is not required, then whip it out.

Your two personally known guys may be excellent, but I stand by most not knowing the rules. (TBF, a lot of actual gas guys don't) My advice was, and is, to find the RGI first, and he will specify the requirements. If the RGI is experienced with fires, he may well have HIS regular "go to" guy, and will avoid any misunderstandings. The last thing the client needs is to pay a "chimney man " to do work that is not required, or worse, unsuitable.
 
Sponsored Links
Top