First major install job

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I am about to embark on my first major install, a back boiler on a fully pumped ov system out and a spanking new Vaillant 937 storage combi in... Any pointers you lads can give me? I am an ex BG tech (with 10 yrs exp.) but with not much install experience. Hoping this will be the first of many to come.....

Sponsored Links
• Power flush system
• Drain and remove BBU
• Remove primary flow
• Cut back and cap primary return
• Drain & decommission header and cold water tanks
• Remove all valves, switchgear, pump etc
• Remove cold feed and open vent from boiler side
• Convert domestic cold supply to main
• Install hefty gas supply to 937
• Connect primaries to heating side
• Hook up hot and cold systems
• Install condensate and PRV pipe work
• Install whatever interlock you fancy
• Provide protection for the secondary heat exchanger
• Do whatever further flushing you feel necessary
• Start it up and go outside for a coffee for at least 10 minutes
• Further flushing etc
• Add inhibitor
• Calculate the gas rates etc
• Allow 2 hours to pack all your gear up
• Demo to customer
• Paper work

And home for tea just 3 days later.

P.S. Forgot to mention, allow at least 30 minutes head scratching time when trying to follow the instructions on how to connect the storage side to the combi side. Give yourself a pat on the back if you get it right first time and have no washers left over.

P.P.S. I've got the same job except with 5 new rads starting Wednesday. Luckily, I have to install my 937 in the loft, I'm expecting to be a shadow of my former self when I finish.

That about sums it up, only estimating 3 days is a touch optimistic. I could do it in 5 days on my own, with my apprentices on the job 5 days plus two further days of me on my own and a bill for carpet cleaning, and a load of wasted time discussing vagueries of 17 year olds with customer (to try and mitigate all the damage he's done.