Fit two combi boilers or go unvented?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all, I am not a heating engineer but I am an engineer and I have done a fair bit on plumbing but much has changed and I am hoping some useful advice and opinions can be given please.

I am currently in the process of buying a 5/6 bedroom house it was built around 1920 possibly earlier when we get it I will be making sure it is as fully insulated as possible. The property currently has two combi boilers, one to feed upstairs and one to feed downstairs, I believe the previous owner wanted to put a granny flat in and also extend into the loft space and that is all I really know about the system. The previous owner ended up loosing the property to the bank and kindly decided to remove a few essentials one of which was all the radiators (boilers are still there) there is damage to some of the pipework but to what extent I do not know as of yet.

What I would like to do is get some sensible opinions on where to go from here, we have no plans for adding to or extending the property and we are looking to live in it for quite a while, I need the system to cope with two adults and two young children, baths more than showers and it has one main bathroom (big bath), one en-suite (shower), and a downstairs WC / Shower (not bothered about keeping the shower). Is it wise to keep the two combi system (replaced with new condensing units) or install a single unit and possibly go with an unvented cylinder? If the cylinder is a good option is it worth getting one with two coils to allow for the possibility of solar heating? I do know the main water feed to the house had been changed to what was described as "a new large one" in preparation for the previous owners plans to extend so I assume we will have a good pressure / flow rate.

Also I am swaying towards Viessmann or Valliant systems any good / bad things to know about these or any suggestions on other models?