Fitting a TV wall mounting system

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello,

I'm a beginner at DIY, as you can probably tell :p.

I'm trying to mount my TV, I have to drill 6 10mm holes in to my chimney breast which is plastered and papered. The first 3 horizontally were fine in to the brick. The next holes must have been aligned just at the edge of the bottom of the bricks and as soon as I got through the plaster the drill started veering down to the least resistance from the mortar.

I expect I'm going to have to drill them all again but hope for the best when it comes to brick/mortar position. I'll do 1 top row hole by its bottom row hole this time.

Are there any tips you can provide for filling the holes I've caused and how to avoid drilling on a border of a brick to prevent this in future?

Thanks

Sponsored Links
Best to start with a 5-6mm hole then enlarge it prevents the bit wandering around.You can fill with standard fillers, you don't mention size of tv but a couple of 10mm fixing will provide good support for most tv's.So the extra fixings are insurance but rarely needed.

Hi Foxhole,

Since posting this I read I should use a pilot hole and tried a 4mm, but the same problem occurred when I went to drill the 10mm.

I re-drilled a few cm up after guessing at the brick height and it looks like the holes are all good now. I also read using epoxy appropriate for masonry would be strong enough to re-drill.

The TV is around 18Kg, so I'm confident it will hold the weight.

The only thing I'm unsure of now is what to use to fill the holes? I won't be re-drilling them and although they aren't visible behind the TV I like to do things properly. They're around 5-6cm deep at 1cm diameter. It seemed most fillers I looked at in B&Q were suitable for 1cm depth. Should I fill it with mortar then when it's dry use a smooth filler? Or putty for it all?

Cheers

Sponsored Links