Fitting Outside Light

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Morning All,

Hope someone can help as I am a true novice to wiring and not sure if I am doing something stupid.

Basically I am hooking up a New Outside Light to the old wiring and cant get it to work.

The old Outside Light wasnt working and was a bit rusty and old, so instead of just swapping the bulb, I bought a whole new Unit that has Sensors on it.

Basically the way it is setup from checking the Socket, is they have the Wall Switch which inside has 3 Wires

Red Wire
Black Wire
Green/Yellow(Earth) Wire

Green/Yellow wire is I presume the Earth and is not connected to anything, just covered with casing and wrapped securly.

The Red and Black wires are attached to a plastic block which screws onto the back of the Switch.

There is then a Grey Plastic casing leasding outside and along the wall to the Light Unit.

Now my understanding is the Red Wire is Live and Back wire is Nuetral.

On the Light Fitting, there is a choc block which has a Yello cable attached on the end slot, then 3 wires being

Yellow/Green
Brown
Blue

Now the way it says to hook it up is Blue to Black and Red to Brown and yellow/Green wires together.

I did this and then set the Sensor lamp to Test, and switch the light on and nothing happened.

I double checked and everything was plugged in okay, so just wondered what could be worng, have I got it wired wrong or what Issues can I check like cable testing etc

Cheers in advance

Then on the Light Unit there is a Choc Block in it with

Sponsored Links
Can you hear the sensor clicking on and off when the power is interrupted? If so, you've probably got a faulty lamp. If you can't hear clicking you may have wired it up wrong.

Check also that you have fitted the lamp securely on its prongs - it's easy to be mistaken.

Have you connected the earth cable in the switch to the earth terminal at the light? Have you connected anything to the 4th terminal (with the yellow lead) at the light?