Flat concrete roof, codensation or a leak?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
We have just recently bought a new (to us) house which has an outhouse that we have converted ito a utlility room off the kitchen, I have got to the stage where we have plasterboarded and skimmed and it's looking ok.

However I have just started to notice a build up of water on the ceiling which looks like codensation to me although I am not sure.

It only seems to have happened since I skimmed, could it be the plaster drying out? the only ventilation in there is the outlet for the tumble dryer but the weather is very damp at the moment anyway, we have had a bit of rain recently.

The roof felting looks ok to me from above but I am no expert on roof felting, there are a couple of damp areas, none of which are above where the build ups are occurring.

Any ideas?

Sponsored Links
Is this a concrete roof with no insulation? And the room below is inhabited and next to the kitchen? Then yes you will get condensation (but not in summer when the roof will probably be warm from the sun. Any internal wet then will be rain).

The new plaster will be adding to the humidity as it dries out.

Is there enough headroom to add an insulated lining with vapour barrier?

Even a couple of inches would do, using insulated plasterboard (comes ready made with a polystyrene layer).

An extractor fan in the kitchen will also help keep the humidity down.

An uninsulated ceiling/roof loses a vast amount of heat in winter.

It might be possible to rurn it into a warm roof with insulation on top and then sheet roofing, but this would be harder.

If you ventilate the utility room well and don't heat it then there will be less cause of condensation.

Thanks John

Yes the room is uninhabbited for now because we havent moved in yet but there will be washer, dryer fridge, freezer as well as a seperate toilet at the end.