Flat Roof Joist layout

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all, great forum you've got here! Seem to always pop in here when i need to do some research on something, but thought i better join up (and in) as im currently doing an extension (mostly myself apart from bricky) and have a few question that i could do with some help with!!

This regarding a flat roof and the joist layout, wall plates etc. As i've never done roof joists before im a bit stuck on the layout and if wall plates are needed and where the outside joists are situated.

The extension is 10.6 (width of the detached bungalow) x 5.5 metres, back wall is the existing bungalow, im going to be attaching a wall plate to the back wall with joist hangers, using 6 metre lengths of 47x225.

The main thing i cant get my head around is the wall plates! Im pretty sure that i need one on the top of front inner skin wall to take the joists and have something for them to fix too? but do i need them on the two side walls aswell?

Also the outside joists, do they sit on the innerskin wall/wallplate or just inside the wall?

Getting really confused with it and can't seem to find much online to point me in the right direction. Anyone got any advice.?

Sponsored Links
You don't actually need a wall plate at all for a flattie but it does simplify the holding down headache.

You would typically fix a wall plate at each of the bearing ends of the joists. The plates are fitted to the inner skin. You then use holding down straps to secure the plates. Theses straps are fixed to face of the inner skin of blocks.

thanks for the response noseall..

So if i go for a plate on the front wall i pressume that i need them on the side walls aswell? or everything will be out of line.

I've just found a diagram showing a joist layout, showing the outer joists just on the insides of the inner skin and a ladder created to go over the two courses. Presume this is the correct way?