Flickering Dimmer

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi, My Dimmer switch to ceiling lights has worked for 3 years without a problem. I had a party, and the day after the lights now do not come on, or flicker at a dim light regardless of the dimmer setting. Any ideas - could it be a loose wire? Or is it time for a new dimmer switch. I am no electrician, but if Iturn off the power to the room, and replace the plug - presume I can't go wrong?

Thanks
DoggyDimmer

Sponsored Links
Sorry, I do not understand the combination of ceiling lights, plug, dimmer…..:confused:
Can you explain the set up a little better?

Secondly, after the party, did all the lights work, or had one of them blown?
Thirdly, have you changed any of the lamps recently?

Have you put an incompatible lamp in and the dimmer is moaning about it?

I haven't changed any of the light bulbs. I have a switch that has one ordinary switch and a dimmer switch on it. The simple switch and lights are working fine. The dimmer switch should turn on 6 lights sunk into the ceiling. I haven't changed any of the light bulbs. All other lights in the house worked without a problem before and after the party.

Sponsored Links
OK, so the recessed lighting is not working?

Sounds like you may have a switch with a fuse built-in. Could be that one of the lamps has failed and taken out the integral fuse in the switch.

To find it, look on the bottom edge of the switch in the middle: there should be small tray that will lever out with a small flat-bladed screwdriver, giving access to the fuse.
It is a BS646 fuse, probably 1 or 3A.

the lights now do not come on, or flicker at a dim light regardless of the dimmer setting.

This bit I don't quite understand.