Floor is a bit of a mess - levelling compound approach?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I'm refitting a bathroom for my parents. I was originally going to use Ardex NA to level the concrete floor. But when I've taken up carpet and old floor tiles and had a spirit level on it, the floor turns out to be a bit of a mess of sections/levels/slopes, and much worse than it originally looked. It looks as if the "concrete floor" is large pre-cast sections like giant paving slabs its so uneven.

See diagram below.

As you can see, the most significant slope is a reasonably linear one down towards the door from the high point, and the drop in height is around -23mm over the length of the bathroom - which is about 2.5M, and 1.5m wide.

I'm after suggestions from those of you who might have done something like this on what combination of levelling compound type/brand and approach is best for a job like this. I've never done a level to this sort of depth before.

Obviously, I'd like to do this in one pour if possible but I'm thinking the slope direction, bed depth and constraints below are going to make that a little difficult and I can afford to take a bit of time to get it right.

So, my current thinking is to put a batton up the middle of the bathroom floor and level the shower/sink side close to its full depth in one pour as there will be no foot traffic at the deep end, the sink end ought to set fast enough sloping from the high point to -5mm deep, and I've got full reach to trowel the compound out if necessary without wading in it. When that side is set solid, do the loo side in two or three stages. Then do a final thin level across both if needed.

Constraints:

I'm only concerned with time to walk-on. The flooring on top of it can wait (this will be non-slip vinyl).