Floor level, new footings

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi, I'm just starting digging the footings for my 2 story extension and wanted advise on matching old house floor to new.
Current regs require the new floor to be total thickness from the footings of 420mm, sub base, insulation etc. The old house floor is only 220mm from footings to finished floor level.

My question, do I need to have my footings (1mtr deep) to be 200mm below the existing footings?

Does that make sense?

Sponsored Links
Sorry, as you can tell, I'm new to the terminology
I have drawings that show I must make the extension internal floor up to finished level using compacted sub base, sand, insulation and a final 75mm screed.

I must trench fill concrete foundations to a minimum depth of 1mtr, and goes on to show the flooring requirements (inside of the brickwork) that show the ground above the concrete to the finished floor level is a minimum of 420mm.

The old house I'm joining to, from the concrete to finished floor level is only 220mm. If I concrete to the same level as those concrete foundations, I'll have a new floor 200mm higher than the existing floor.

Should I then dig out another 200mm of the internal area to give the required depth of the new base of 420mm? Or should I start the 1mtr concrete foundation level, 420mm lower than the existing finished floor height?

I think you are getting confused.
It sounds like you have building regs drawings with cut n paste foundation detail.
Ignore the dimensions on those.

Just go by this:
Foundation
Typically bottom of foundation trench is around 1 metre below ground level.
But the actual depth on your project needs to be when stable, load bearing ground is reached. Depth is also influenced by nearby trees or drain runs.