Flooring Newbie

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
This is my first post and I'm a novice so please excuse me.

I live in a 1970s bungalow, the floor is concrete with plastic tiles stuck on top.

I have seen some flooring that I like the look of:

http://www.homebase.co.uk/webapp/wc...ay?langId=110&storeId=10151&partNumber=461183

1) Is this flooring any good?

2) Is it a good price?

3) What do I need to fit it - can it be stuck on top of the tiles or do I need an underlay type of thing?

Sorry, If the questions sound stupid, but I'm just starting out.

Sponsored Links
The flooring you are looking at is a cheapish 14mm Engineered floating floor. You use no glue in it's installation, it clicks together and uses it's mass, weight and area to stay in place. It will expand and contract and you will need to allow an expansion gap around all edges of the room, you can cover this gap with matching beading and door profiles, or remove skirtings and re-fit them over the expansion gap. You will need to budget for DPM sheeting, Underlay, beading and door profiles as well as a basic install kit and spacers and pipe caps for radiators. Generally the fitting instructions are in the pack.

Tools you will need will be a install kit (tapping bar, tapping block, spacers) drill, jigsaw, mitre block, hand saw, although the proffesionals will carry considerably more gear to fit it to a high standard

It sounds easy to fit and the principles are straightforward, only your own DIY skills are known to you so the quality of job you make of the fitting is reliant upon yourself, your tools, and the quality of the product.

It is laid on an underlay, generally fibreboard underlay or heavy duty enginnered wood underlay like TimbermateXL will give the best results.

Like all natural wood products, it will mark, dent, fade and scratch, that's what happens to real wood.