Fluidmaster float valve 400uk in toilet emits a whistling noise when not in use ?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi All,
Thanks in advance for any help you can give me please.

I have a Fluidmaster 400UK float valve in my toilet cistern and it keeps emitting a intermittent high pitch whistling noise when not being used ?

When it happens I take the lid off and push the fluidmaster on right hand side and it stops for a bit.
Is there any easy fix for this, maybe use wd40 on it maybe or can the height of it be adjusted if that would help ?
Would it be possible to just replace the top part of fluidmaster 400 uk in situ without removing valve completely and flexihose ?

Many thanks
Phil.

Last edited:
Sponsored Links
Hi

I have a Fluidmaster 400UK float valve in my toilet cistern and it keeps emitting an intermittent high pitch whistling noise when not being used ?

When it happens I take the lid off and push the fluidmaster on right hand side and it stops for a bit.
Is there any easy fix for this, maybe use wd40 on it maybe or can the height of it be adjusted if that would help ?

Is it possible to just replace the top part of fluidmaster 400 uk in situ without removing valve completely and flexi hose below ?

Many thanks
Phil.

You water pressure may be quite high and it's pushing past the rubber seal.

Yes you can just remove the top part of the fill valve ( once the water's shut off). Pull the grey/black plastic lock ring upwards till it clicks, then the whole top of the valve pulls up and off, leaving the shank of the fill valve still in the cistern. Buy another one and fit in reverse. Once fitted and the ring snapped back down, twist the section of the valve you just replaced to get to the desired height.

Sponsored Links
I have done some more research on the net - would undoing the top cap of fluid master and cleaning
the fluidmaster Multi-Pressure Float Valve Diaphragm Washer or replacing it stop the whistling ?