Foundation For Crazy Paving

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi first off I'm not handy at all lol, A friend of a friend offered to do some work in my garden, he's done some so far, but now he's avoiding me like the plague, I will not list all the projects still to get done, but I'll start with the one I would like to get done, and see where it goes from there.

I have a rectangle shape that is 7m long and over a meter wide approximately, I have some broken slabs different sizes/ crazy paving, I need to lay this, then bolt down a plastic keter shed on top, and I would like to know the best and probably easiest way for a complete novice to get this done, I kind of had a look on YouTube for some guidance, but now my head is nipping with all these different approaches.

1) should I lay a mortar mix let it set, then place the crazy paving peice by peice, then cement in-between, if I did this would I have to create some kind of box section to keep the mortar mix intact, and how do I keep straight edges for the crazy paving.

2) put down some kind of gravel, hire a compactor, then lay the crazy paving over the surface, then cement.

3) your ideas, bearing in mind I'm a total novice, but want to give it a go, please don't say get a guy in, tried that failed, I'm in Scotland so will get ground frost when winter kicks in.

I have enclosed a pic.

Attachments

• 20200809_155148.jpg
    20200809_155148.jpg
    715.3 KB · Views: 237
Sponsored Links
If it’s solid under foot I would mixup sharp sand and cement, 5 to 1. Mix it wet then knock the paving onto it with a rubber mallet, do a meter then use the same mix to point it up.

If it’s solid under foot I would mixup sharp sand and cement, 5 to 1. Mix it wet then knock the paving onto it with a rubber mallet, do a meter then use the same mix to point it up.