Garden/Courtyard makeover

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi Folks I'm new to this site and still finding my way around. I typed out details of my request for advice already but when I added photos I managed to lose all the text! I am moving from a riverside flat and have a house in mind which needs TLC, central heating, kitchen update and a complete garden/courtyard makeover - it is just hideous! I want to conceal the backs of the garages at the far end and get rid of the solid shed. Also get rid of the unsightly paving/decking and strange balustrade. In all - a total makeover. I would be glad of advice re cost of this project and any design ideas. I thought of wood panel fencing/trellis to cover the garage backs? I suppose I really need a blank canvas and although I am confident in interior design I have no experience of garden landscaping. I am a fit, retirement age female who has done elementary DIY in my own flat over the years (see pics)
Many thanks for any advice.
Lyn
View media item 30609 View media item 30611
:) :)

Sponsored Links
You could make your post more user friendly by placing the images vertically, rather than horizontally.
Some labels or short descriptions on the images also would help, especially as the first two images appear to be a different house to the later three..
A simple edit will do the job.

Are you planning to pay someone to do the job? I personally do such things myself, and if you are fit and have enough time (retirement age) perhaps you can do it too if you want.

Several years ago I had no knowledge about gardening and started with buying garden design books (look at the pictures in the books, they are a good indicator if it is a useful book for your purposes), also books for beginner gardeners. My previous house has now the best gardens (both front and back) in the neighborhood :) The current one is on its way to have a beautiful garden, too.