Gas Pressure?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello,

I had a flueless gas fire fitted about 4 months ago and all was fine until this week, the flame seems to be very low but does seem to increase later in the evening, could this be down to low gas pressure due to increased demand in the area (very cold weather this week)? Complete novice at this so not sure if gas pressure is affected by demand - if so, do I contact British Gas or Transco (whatever they're called this week) to report low pressure? Don't really want to call an engineer out just yet for something that could be supplier related.

Thanks in advance

Sponsored Links
Thanks - Installed by Corgi reg installer, 2 carbon monoxide detectors fitted in the room, larger than required air vent as well...belt and braces approach.

Still Say dont use it untill a competant person has checked it out

these things scare the bejayyuss out of me

Sponsored Links
yep - take your point - was only decorative so not a problem leaving it off
Cheers

Sorry to be a harbinger of doom but it is better to be safe than wotsit aint it

yep - agree with both and will not use til inspected - any appliance fiited incorrectly or used incorrectly could be a potential death trap. I did read up on this fireplace prior to purchase hence the 2 carbon monoxide detectors and larger vents etc.

I'll check the cooker etc tonight to see if there is a noticable drop in pressure...Pizza normaly takes 30 mins to cook, if it takes an hour I'll know theres a problem ;)

Cheers

Transco wont have a problem with you notifying them that you think there is a pressure drop,

they will er on the side of safety and call out to check.

What was wrong with the flue-less fire that was involved with the South Wales death was that it had to much gas pressure and overcame the catalitic converters ability to chemicaly remove the Carbon Monoxide from the products of combustion.

Tim

Please keep us informed as to the out come of your query.