Generator Power For Garage. What Do I Need? Help!!

Sponsored Links
Whoa, lets all take a breath here. :eek:

The reason I am asking these questions is that I'm not an electrician (yeah, no sh*t I here you say). If I knew all the answers I wouldn't be here would I? :rolleyes: I can wire a plug, put in a light fitting, thats a far as my knowledge goes.......now if it was a question about fixing a motorbike, I would be fine. Reminds of the time a guy came onto my bike forum asking if the best way to remove rust on his brake discs was with wire wool & wd40!!

The reason I was asking about the socket on the wall is that I couldn't work out why the appliance inlet didn't have a cap like the other socket? To me, a permanent outdoor socket, would have some sort of cover....or am I just thinking outside of the box here? :confused:

I'm not going to rush out & buy these things until I'm 100% sure of what I am doing is right. If I ask a question which to the more experience among you is fairly obvious, it doesn't mean you have to freak out & start using huge fonts & tons of exclamation marks.

Ta :D

Caravan or camping shops do sell all you need although more expensive than from an electrical whole sale outlet. I tried a Google for 16A plug surface mount and I found quickly this advert and as you can see this is a plug not a socket and it is one of these you mount on garage wall. Panel mount also available however I will admit the goggle search did find more sockets than plugs even when plug was in the phrase used.

Yes I know people do use the wrong way around and seeing how few funerals they have for shop keepers in Turkey there educational standards must be better then ours in teaching the dangers! I think we are so use to being protected from harm we don't take the care we should. When I started we still had 415v knife switches to lift the local river bridge and it seems no one was ever injured.