Generator voltage

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello, I am an electrician and I have wired a dwelling which is to supplied by a mobile generator. I performed all of my dead tests and everthing ok.
I have wired it up as a TT system, spike ect.
My tester won't allow me to carry out earth loop and Rcd tests.
There is voltage on both live and neutral outputs from the generator, are about 170 volts on the live and about 60 volts on the neutral.
These are both to earth. There is 230volts between the live and neutral.

Is this correct?

Also the generator is about 5 years old and has had repairs on it, eg the rectifier and the stator have been worked on, previously. As I was told by the owner.

Sponsored Links
A system supplied by a generator ought to be TN-S, not TT. In essence, if it was to be TT you'd need a rod for the generator and a separate rod for the dwelling.
For a TN-S system the generator should be earthed with a rod*, the neutral connected to this earth point and this used for the earthing in the dwelling. If the generator is putting out an odd supply i.e. 170-0-60 then you need to investigate why.

*This rod should be less than 21ohms to ground which needs to be tested with a 3 or 4 wire earth electrode tester.

I will have a guess as had this before. I will expect to find the generator is duel voltage 110 or 230 volt so two windings with a centre tap on one winding connected to the earth tag so in 110 volt mode all is OK 55 - 0 - 55 but in the 230 volt mode that earth is around 60 - 0 - 180 giving a often unfused 60 volt output. Sounds if in your case the line and neutral have been swapped. The one I found was a Honda and the problem is you should not switch earth and without switching it is very hard to swap earth from centre tap to connected to neutral.