give me your opinion on a bad job? (flag paving)

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
just had my back yard flagged by a builder.
asked him to level back yard and then flag.
i don't think its a good job and several of the flags move slightly underfoot.
i don't think it's level and flags appear uneven.
he feels that there's nothing wrong with it.
i'm no expert.
can anyone offer any words of wisdom?
have put the images in my album for you to view.

Sponsored Links
Not good, particularly if some are moving.

We solid bed ours on sharp sand mortar complete with solid mortar joints and none of this brushed in rubbish.

There are far too many diy programmes on tele giving poor advice.

Laying on dry sand is total wazz.

That type of slab is the easiest to lay to a flush finished surface.

There appear to be some dipping, but is that within tolerance? It's hard to say.

If you paid top money for the job then I would expect better. If it was a cheap job it may be OK

Its not OK to have any slabs moving or loose though, and the work around the gully is poor, as is the edge concrete fillet

Also, these slabs should really be laid tight against each other with no joint - unless you asked for something different

The loose/dipping slabs will be a right pain to level out now, and the builder wont be happy to do this. But movement will get worse and where water ponds, the ground will get wet and the slabs will continue to dip even more in a very short time

Really it is down to how much was paid for the work though

Sponsored Links
I thought the one good thing was he hasnt laid them flat. He has dished the area and put a run away from the building. As there is no gully he has put the run off out the gate.
Shouldnt have loose slabs though.

Bit shoddy! Think your gonna have some pooling to the left of the gate.
Brushing in jointing sand is for blocks not slabs. There should be no rockers.