Glowworm Betacom 24c - low DHW Temp

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello all,

I am new to this so any help is much appreciated.

I have a Glowworm Betacom 24c combi that I installed a few months ago. Everything was fine until about 6 weeks ago when the DHW temp seem to have dropped off. With any tap fully open the temp doesnt go above about 30. Close the tap down and reduce the flow by 50% temp rises to 60+. CH works great.

I am thinking either flow rate too high for boiler but that would mean the mains flow in to the house has risen since install?? OR the mains supply temperature has dropped so much that the boiler can't keep up??

For now I have closed down the mains inlet valve decreasing the flow and all is ok but my shower is a bit rubbish now!!!

Has any one got any other ideas as I cant wait to have a nice powerful hot shower again!!!

Thanks

Jim

Sponsored Links
assuming your gas supply to the boiler is correct .....ie the meter governer hasn't gone faulty ....

the only thing i can think of which will cause this is

the water inlet temperature is lower ,and as you say the boiler can't keep up as it only 24 kw (and a budget boiler)

or the diverter valve is not closing off the heating circuit properly ....
an easy test to determine this is to run the hot water with the heating stone cold .......hold onto the flow pipe from the boiler ,and if you feel it getting warm ,the diverter valve is letting by

Sponsored Links
The OP who says he installed the boiler himself apparently has no body else to ask.

He could read the instructions though! They would say the boiler can raise the water temperature by 35 degrees at 9 litres per minute.

So if he sets it to 9 lpm and the incoming water is say 3 degrees that the boiler output will be about 38 degrees at the boiler and losing about 2 degrees in the pipework will give 35 degrees at the hot tap.