Gripfill MDF skirting fixing

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Not sure whether to put this in the carpentry or decorating forum.

I am replacing some old timber skirtings with MDF. I am planning to fix with Gripfill only, as behind the skirtings is just dot & dab plasterboard, with no timber.

I have one wall which isn't flat - slightly convex bend - which I need to fix the skirting to. Needs to bend about 15mm over a length of 800mm. I have tried to flatten the wall out a bit but I'm not too good at plastering and don't want to end up making the wall look worse!

I can bend the skirting into shape by pushing it against the wall, but my question is - how to get it to stay?

If I hold it in place with weights while the Gripfill goes off, is the Gripfill strong enough to hold the bent skirting in place permanently?

How long do I need to leave the weight against it while the Gripfill dries?

Should I consider an alternative such as Gorilla Glue for this section?

Thanks.

Sponsored Links
I prefer foam adhesive as it goes off quickly and fills all voids, if you have timber floor then a scrap of timber screwed to floor will brace it in place , solid floor use a bucket of water.

Sponsored Links

No sleight on you but Gorilla Glue?

Increasingly I hear people talking about Gorilla Glue, seemingly unaware that Gorilla make lots of very different types of glue.

In your case you would not want to use the polyurethane Gorilla glue as it would push the skirting away as the glue starts to foam.

I often use my hot melt glue gun to lock skirting boards into place until the gripfill has cured. The hot melt glue hardens in about 2 minutes. Where the skirting is being fitted to walls that bow outwards you may need a second pair of hands to push the other end of the board to the wall whilst waiting for the glue to harden.

However, based on Foxhole's remarks, I may try expanding foam one day. My only concern is that I always apply too much...