Ground source heat pumps

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
We are thinking of self-build next time around, and being mindful of the current environmental problems, we like the idea of installing a ground source heat pump.

Question for all you pro installers out there and anyone who has gone down this route, any general advice or tips? I understand that to gain maximum benefit the system should be used with under floor heating.

Is ground loop better than vertical bore hole? Do they provide enough heat, or must other heating be installed?

Any tips or advice would be very welcome.

TIA

Silinman

Sponsored Links
For ground source you need an area of shade free ground approximately twice the size the footprint of the property.

Bore holes are good provided you can get approval from the water Company, and tap into a good water course.

A large pond/lake is the best

I have no knowledge of the installation of these systems, just their use. My sister lives in Devon, and has one of these systems fitted in her cottage.

The only advice I can give you concerns noise. The pump and associated plant for my sisters system is in the kitchen. Be warned these systems can be quite noisy, especially when they start up. In the kitchen, its not such a problem, but you wouldn't want the equipment near your lounge or bedrooms. See if the equipment can go in an outbuilding, etc.

Its just one thing to consider at the planning stage.

Heat provision without Aux heating is between 35 and 42 degC on most current domestic units so combined with UFH it works a treat.Rads its not so clever.

All work via weather comp so your getting the best control to performance available individual controlled zones creates its own problems cos the heat pump alone isnt designed to operate that way.

Equipment is large and with associated parts,brine filters coneections,vessels and possable buffers space is required.