Gulley replacement

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all advice please if possible

I need to replace the drain /gulley but I've no experience in them at all

Are they fairly bog standard as for sizes and pipes

The one I need replacing is made of concrete I think and it's cracked on the top and along the inside when I've checked inside there seems to be a u bend heading right and that must go to the sewer

Can you let me know if it's a straight swap to replace and also the drain is really only used to collect the rainwater from the roof as ground water runs away from it

Kev

638b4f9d.jpg

Sponsored Links
Easy enough to replace if you choose to. You'll need to remove sufficient block paving to be able to access the gulley and the pipe leading away from it. Looks like its made from salt glazed stoneware, commonly used in the past. Gulley and trap will be made in one piece so there's no option but to remove the lot.

Dig out and expose the gulley and enough of the outlet pipe to be able to access with an angle grinder. You may find it is only the surrounding soil holding the gulley in place, in which case, slight movement may free the gulley from the joint to the outlet pipe. If not break it away carefully.

Cut outlet pipe with angle grinder, and chamfer cut edge. Fit a suitable connector to adapt salt glazed to plastic. (This might be ok... http://www.screwfix.com/p/flexible-adaptor/19914 ). Offer in new gulley, (bottle type is my preference as they have built in access for rods or jetting hose), cut piece of 110mm plastic pipe to go from gulley to adaptor, fit gulley and pipe. Good practice to bed gulley on some concrete and haunch with concrete to hold it in place. Protect and exposed plastic pipe with peagravel