hall and stairs

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi

I have recently moved into a new home.
The hall and stairs are in big need of decorating, and I would appreciate a bit of advice.

When I decorated the living room, I was kind of lazy in that I hired a Painter & Decorator to prepare the walls before I did the easy part of painting.

I’m new to the world of decorating and so even just painting the living room was pretty rewarding, but the hallway and stairs looks like a whole new ballgame!

The reason I am a little apprehensive about doing the hall and stairs is because of the following:

1. A portion of wall in the hall (about 1ft square) that NTL drilled through to the living room to insert a cable looks ready to collapse in on itself on one side. It has cracked badly and appears to be falling apart.
Should I attempt to repair the wall somehow, bearing in mind that I have trouble filling regular holes with Polyfiller with any level of success.

2. Some parts of the wall in the hall & stairway have lots of tiny hairline cracks, but I assume that is because the previous tenant had used very low quality watered down magnolia that the tiny tiny cracks could not be covered by. Will good old Dulux sort that out for me?

3. Numerous other holes, some tiny, some slightly larger areas of what I assume is plaster broken away are here and there. What do I fill those with, and how?

4. At the bottom of the stairway, on the edge of the ceiling before it becomes the wall that rises up to the highest part of the ceiling above the stairs (I hope that makes sense), chunks have been knocked away by furniture that was squeezed past it. I tried filling the areas in question (part ceiling and part wall) with a polycell mix, but the “cement” or what ever its called just falls off and is impossible to shape into a nice edge. How and what do I use for that?

Do I attempt to do this job, or do I hire a decorator (baring in mind that im not exactly rolling in the money right now)?