Halogen spot light wiring question

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi All

I stumbled on this site after a Google search - like you do ... anyhow, I have not been able to find a specific answer to my question - but maybe I have not been able to match some descriptions to what I am looking at, see below.

Basically I want to wire a halogen spot light rail to an existing ceiling rose, with an existing on/off switch on the wall (ie no dimmer).

This is what I have:

Ceiling wiring (two red, two black, one much thicker/stiffer wire sheathed in a black)

wiring01.jpg

Transformer (brown and blue wires shown)

wiring02.jpg

Lighting mount (three white and three black wires - there are three spot lights on the rail)

wiring03.jpg

The lighting circuit is on a 5 amp fuse.

So ... which do I connect to what?

I'm no electrician so clear instructions will be very much appreciated :D

Cheers

Paul

Sponsored Links
You need to know exactly how the wires connected to the old ceiling rose.

You made some notes before you took it down, didn't you?

My first guess - and it is only a guess - and assumes you just have one switch controlling one light - is the two reds from the ceiling connect together in a piece of choc bloc, and to nothing else.

One black wire connects to each mains voltage terminal of the transformer - the black carrying the switched live to the live side, and the other to the neutral. We don't know which of the two is the switched live - you will need your notes for that. It is usual for the switched live to be marked with a red sleeve, but it is often omitted.

The CPCs or earth wires should be sleeved with green/yellow sleeving, not black, and terminated on the earth terminal of the fitting.

The three white wires from the fitting connect to one 12 Volt terminal of the transformer, and the three blacks to the other.

If there is more than one switch, or the switch controls more than one light, the wiring of your lighting circuit may be totally different.