Have caused a problem with my boiler? Baxi Solo HE

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Recently had my boiler, a Baxi Solo HE serviced, as it kept cutting out, red lockout light on constantly. The boiler seemed to work ok for a period of time after that and then started doing it again. Last night even after pressing the reset button the boiler refused to start. SO in my infinite wisdom as a non expert I carefully took the front of the boiler off to expose the burner and electrodes. The first thing I noticed was a fair amount of oxidisatipon on the electrodes, so with some very fine emery cloth I cleaned them up AND did the same for similiar looking 'rod' next to them which I assume was part of the temp sensor? Put the whole thing back together, fired it up and great, all started up ok. Unfortunately after about 30 mins of use the boiler cuts out with red light flashing indicating an overheat fault, never had this before .... Have I done something wrong? if so what can I do to fix? - Thanks in advance.

Sponsored Links
With respect,the parts you have fiddled with have nothing to do with temperature sensors.Clearly you are out of your comfort zone and a competent boiler repair man is required.The fault is not not uncommon with this boiler but diy gas advice is not allowed. :)
You can however check other parts of your system eg pump etc.

With respect,the parts you have fiddled with have nothing to do with temperature sensors.Clearly you are out of your comfort zone and a competent boiler repair man is required.The fault is not not uncommon with this boiler but diy gas advice is not allowed. :)
You can however check other parts of your system eg pump etc.

You are correct I am outside my comfort zone; but the electrodes were oxidised and they have been cleaned; what would be the other 'rod' out of interest that resides next to the electrodes if not a temp sensor / thermostat?