heat extraction from a school kitchen

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Kitchen in a nursery is very hot.

Only has a large domestic style hob extractor 120mm duct

Would increasing the hob extraction to a commercial type, make a BIG difference in bringing the room temperature down.

Cooker is a six plate electric hob and oven

It must remove some heat, any ideas on how this could be calculated

Sponsored Links
Im no expert but i think too much extraction can cause other problems, ie with gas, large kitchens tend to have supply fans as well as extraction

Yes I don't know much about this, and its not a job I will be undertaking.

They have had some big quotes to do the work.

I do some electrical work in the building and the owner asked me what I thought. Said I wasn't sure, but will do some research...hence asking here :D

With larger extraction, you either need decent passive intake, or mechanical intake fans. Best to let a proper canopy company do the calcs and fit the kit. You can just wire it :)

Sponsored Links
I fit a lot of commercial canopies in kitchens for my dad's business. They manufacture them. My dad could work out the size of fan required to get the required number of air changes per hour in the room. There are a lot of variables such as the length and size of the ducting.
Input fans are often required to replace the air taken out as you can't have a pressure difference between out side and inside.
With gas hobs there is requirements the canooy must meet to do with overhang of the hob and height above it. There is also a requirement for a gas interlock panel and solenoid valve to switch off gas supply if the fans stop.