Heating/Boiler question

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

I'm not very experienced with heating questions etc. and have a few questions and hope someone here can shed a little bit of light on this.

The situation is as follows: we're renting an old Victorian house, which is absolutely lovely but also insanely cold. The fact that it is rented obviously limits our options massively, but maybe there's still something we can do. It's an end of terrace house with a heating system that has been installed in the 70's. Yes. You heard correctly. It is a central heating system running on gas, with no thermostat anywhere in the house. The gas boiler is downstairs in the kitchen but the whole thing can be programmed upstairs in a cupboard where the pump and the hot water tank (?) are located. The control thingy allows to set the times on which the boiler downstairs is running, but there are no separate options for hot water and heating, it seems to be all combined, and all I can do is a general "turn on, turn off" programming.

At the moment, the system is set up in a way that it comes up for 2 hours in the morning, then two in the late afternoon and another 2 in the evening. I added in two more hours during the last two days (one around 12 so the temperature doesn't drop as much in the first place) and it switches on in the afternoon earlier now and is almost at 3 hours. It is still incredibly cold. The house, of course, only has single glazed windows that are drafty like crazy. We're in the process of trying to reduce heat loss through the windows (thermal lined curtains etc.), and there's probably not much more that we can do, but I'd appreciate any idea to improve the situation, because it's not even December yet and I'm already sick of constantly being cold.