Help....boiler advice needed!

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi everyone.

I'm new to this so please forgive me if the following question has been asked before...

I am wanting to replace my old existing combi boiler (Chaffoteaux & Maury Britony 80) by a fully qualified CORGI registered heating engineer.

I have been doing some research on what type of boiler to have and I'm overwhelmed by the amount of choice and prices.
Obviously I want reliability together with value for money but i don;t want to get caught in the 'brand' trap.
Two extremes are Heatline Solaris 35 (£700) and a Worcester Greenstar 37 cdi (£1100+). I pick these because they have a dhw flow rate 14/15 litres per minute.
Rule of thumb is you get what you pay for BUT......does anyone know the reliability of either of these two boilers? Your recommendations or guidance in the right direction will be much appreciated.

Sponsored Links
yes the choice is vast as is the price range,but what you need to consider is.......what you want from the boiler in terms of your needs, the size of your property,how many rads do you want to run off it,etc etc.......if you have a good installer he will advise you on the best boiler for your needs,we only fit worcester's so i maybe biased,however like all things they can and do go wrong even when new.

I had a WB 37CDi combi installed last year and so far it's been great - it's pretty quiet in operation too.

The only problems I'm having are with the (optional) WB wireless thermostat occasionally losing signal (might be a range/battery issue) and the condenstate pipe leaking slightly (I just need to re-align the fitting I think)

Just watch your gas supply if you're going for a more powerful boiler - I don't have any other gas appliances in the house but even then I only just escaped having to have the pipe upgraded to 28mm, due to the distance/bends involved.