HELP!!! BOILERMATE 2000 Not working HELP!!!

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello everyone,

I am posting in desperation for a friend in Saltash, nr Plymouth. She is a Single Mum and has very little funding. Recently her heating stopped working and she was desperate. A couple of "so called" experts said they thought it may be her boiler. So in a Eureeka moment I suggested the Boiler replacement scheme so she would have a new one fitted paid for by the Government. Unfortunately the firm she got in have told her that her Boilermate 2000 is not working and quoted her £1,800 to replace it before they will replace her boiler. She lives in a town house and has a top floor on-suite which is why I assume she has this bloody stupid tank on the first floor.
I have no plumbing knowledge and when I loked at the tank all I saw was that she has a rusty leaky pipe going into the flor and that the PCB only lights up when it feels like.
What I need is for anyone that knows how I can actually get an honest opinion about what is wrong with her heating and surely isn't she allowed a new tank under the Government scheme?
I am desperate and have even said she will have to stay at mine with her kids because she has NO heating at all.
I am sorry if I am posting in the wrong place but I am desperate for some help for her because she is a real darling that is in bits right now.

Kind regards
John

Sponsored Links
Get someone else.

You can put a combi boiler in and rip the old boilermate out.
I'd do the whole job for £1300 with a new boiler.

Sorry to be thick and thank you for your reply DC.

Would a combi boiler be powerful enough to send hot water to her on-suite on the third floor of her Townhouse? I assume that a combi boiler could be fitted under the government scheme then?

Regards
John

The Government scheme only relates to boilers!

Since its "free" to the recipient then I don't think anyone should criticise the limited scope.