HELP NEEDED - WALL LIGHTS

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
HELP PLEASE!

I've been replacing the old wall lights in my living room with some new ones.

Firstly, I've done a bit of a schoolboy error by not drawing the old wiring setup when taking off the old lights. Admittedly I'm not very experienced with electrics so should have done so.

Basically I have four wall lights - which I have drawn here - http://img116.imageshack.us/img116/4446/lighting1ax.jpg

Two light switchs operate them and they work in two pairs. Switch 1 operates light A and B. Switch 2 operates C and D.

I've replaced lights A and B with the wiring setup as shown and now only light B works properly, with light A working but is very very dim.

Lights C and D are as they were as I have not replaced them yet until I get A and B working. Lights C and D are currently working fine.

I've tried mimiking the wiring setup that C and D has with A and B but when I try that, only light A works.

I must be doing something wrong and was wondering if someone can help... please!

Sponsored Links
nice drawing (seriously)

form what you have said and the pic it looks like lamp a is across the 2 nuetrals.

but the one thing that is mssing from your drawing is the supply, where is it fed from? as it looks like the live loops in and out, this would be fine for a ceiling rose, but if its fed from a fcu then there is no live to the lamp which is why its dim

Thanks Breezer.

I don;t actually know the answers to your questions. How would I find this out?

They were working fine before I fitted new lamps so I think I've just got the wires the wrong way around.

where are the lights fed from?

you will also be better of with a multi meter to identify each cable

Sponsored Links
Also, just in case this throws more light on the problem (no pun intended) I've tried lamp A with the two black wires the other way round. The result was that lamp B was dim and A bright.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++