Help request - Vokera Excell 96e over-temp

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hope someone can help :eek:)
My Vokera Excell 96e went into over-temp fault yesterday morning, so I reset and it was ok; did it again this morning, so again reset ok, but now it has done again and when reset it repeats the fault, so won't work.
I have listened to the startup after reset and it sounds to me like the pump isn't working; burner fires up, then you can hear the water start to get hot, the burner shuts off, then continued 'bubbling' noises and then the boiler goes into over-temp failure...
Can anyone advise how to test the pump? I've checked the voltage at the board and it's ok (~240v). Can anyone alternatively suggest other items to test?
Late last year the boiler had a new PCB and was serviced. I'm not a gas fitter but I am an engineer and cold, so am keen to try to diagnose the problem myself if possible, to get the system going again asap :eek:)
All help hugely appreciated!!
Robbie

Sponsored Links
Kevplumb,
A BIG thanks to you for advice...I'm off into the garage to check that now :D
Cheers again,
Robbie

Ok, I've just seen the pump shaft turning, so I guess the pump must be working... the boiler has fired up this time and seems to be running now :confused: I hate intermittent faults, they're always a nightmare in cars and the like, so I guess it's the same for boilers....
Anyway, does anyone have any suggestions for stuff to test??

Sponsored Links
Ok, I've just seen the pump shaft turning, so I guess the pump must be working... the boiler has fired up this time and seems to be running now :confused: I hate intermittent faults, they're always a nightmare in cars and the like, so I guess it's the same for boilers....
Anyway, does anyone have any suggestions for stuff to test??

replace pump head, its on its way oot ;)

DIYnot Local

Staff member