Help to wallpaper top of wall with curve!

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi

I'm new to decorating, having only wallpapered one room before. We've bought a house and it has a lovely feature on the walls - the wall curves outwards at the top. I'd call it a cornice but its not, as its part of the wall, the plaster just curves. I've found it annoying but manageable to put Anagylypta up so farin the corners, but now I have come to do the Chimney breast. I can't manage to get the paper round the top edge (the edge that is sticking out). Everything I try leaves a mess, lumps and bumps where the paper is overlapping. :(

Any ideas how I could manage this? In the next room the previous owner has patched the paper, its ruined the pattern but that doesnt matter for me as its Anagylypta. Should I try that next?

If enclosed some pics to make what I'm writing make sense! I hope someone can help - I just want the place to look nice! :(

I've linked to flickr because I cant seem to upload pics to diynot! please have a look and any advice would be greatly appreciated!!

http://www.flickr.com/photos/huggapig/sets/72157630197166688/

Sponsored Links
I don't know what Anagylypta is but if it would look OK if you cut curved lines, I have an idea what you could do, although I am not a professional decorator.

Measure the wall at the ceiling (the widest part of the wall) and mark where the sheets of wallpaper should meet. Then draw vertical lines on the walls starting from that marks. Then buy a roll of the cheapest paper (lining paper perhaps) you can find and use it to make patterns. I can imagine several ways to do this.

1) Perhaps the easiest way is to hold a length of the scrap paper to the wall and transfer the line from the wall to the paper. Then cut the paper and try it against the wall. If it needs corrections, cut some more (or if have already cut too much, transfer you pattern to another length of scrap paper).