Help with 'BYPASS VALVE'

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello everyone!
I installed a vaillant ecoTEC Plus (831 r1) in 2007 November, I am an electrician but have some experience with boilers and plumbing, I decided to install this boiler myself, and did so, but did not have much time to read and understand the boiler properly as I really needed the boiler for hot water

Well, I installed the boiler, filled the CH system with water, everything worked fine until 2009.

a problem had risen: when there was hot water demand from a tap, not only would the domestic hot water heat up, but the radiators would heat up too, basically the radiators and tap water would heat up simultaneously, By reading the manual provided with the boiler, I concluded that the diverter valve required replacing and also the water pressure sensor, I spent 140 replacing the parts, it seemed to fix the problem, but 2 months ago, the boiler began leaking water, from underneath, just a drip every 2 minutes. I realized from reading forums off 'DIYnot', that my system should have been properly flushed before continuing with the boiler, so I removed all radiators in my house, and cleaned them using a hose pipe, I reinstalled them added inihibitor as usual, and ran the central heating system, all worked fine, I even installed a magnaclean.

Two months later, I heard a drilling noise from inside the boiler which can be heard through close by rads, so I opened the boiler casing and played around and found that turning the bypass valve screw would stop the noise and even closing some of the valves on the ends of a few radiators. I don't understand what a bypass valve is need for, or what it does.

oh, and by the way, I am using radiators new and old, the old ones being 15-20 years old, and the new ones are about 5 years.

can I please request for some kind help about what a bypass valve does, and how I should adjust it.

thank you for your co-operation.

Sponsored Links