1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Help with getting the correct hive

Discussion in 'Plumbing and Central Heating' started by Bluez88, 28 Nov 2018.

  1. Bluez88

    Bluez88

    Joined:
    28 Nov 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi everyone.

    I am looking at getting hive and getting it installed by a engineer but on amazon and other places they have a heating and hot water model with installation or heating only.

    My boiler is a Worcester greenstar 30si mk3. The boiler is in the attic and we have a remote thermostat on the stairs.

    Can anyone help me with which is the correct one to buy as I can’t find it online.

    Thanks
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Sponsored Links
  3. ianmcd

    ianmcd

    Joined:
    15 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    19,959
    Thanks Received:
    7,770
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    you need a single channel hive, but not straight forward , does your boiler have a D20 receiver fitted to the boiler
     
  4. Bluez88

    Bluez88

    Joined:
    28 Nov 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I don’t know about the d20. That thermostat is battery operated.

    I’m no good with boilers I just know which one I have and that we want hive. It just dosent help amazon dosent list single channel etc
     
  5. ianmcd

    ianmcd

    Joined:
    15 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    19,959
    Thanks Received:
    7,770
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  6. Bluez88

    Bluez88

    Joined:
    28 Nov 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hope that helps
     

    Attached Files:

  7. ianmcd

    ianmcd

    Joined:
    15 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    19,959
    Thanks Received:
    7,770
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    yep that is a D20 you will have to disconnect the wiring ribbon from that once the new stat is installed, no need for any link, to be honest not really a DIY job , might be better if you get a pro in @stem pm me if you want more information , I know you like your nest and hive
     
  8. ianmcd

    ianmcd

    Joined:
    15 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    19,959
    Thanks Received:
    7,770
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    and you need to top up your boiler pressure too
     
  9. ch4chi

    ch4chi

    Joined:
    21 Aug 2012
    Messages:
    19
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    Hi apologies for jumping in on the thread, I have the same boiler and looking to install the hive CH and HW unit, just wanted to ask if there was a particular reason why this would be more of an pro install? Thanks in advance
     
  10. Sponsored Links
  11. ianmcd

    ianmcd

    Joined:
    15 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    19,959
    Thanks Received:
    7,770
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    you do not have the same boiler if you are looking to install a hive CH and HW unit as this boiler is a combi and if you are trying to install a hive CH and HW unit you have a system or heat only boiler, they are not the same thing
     
  12. Bluez88

    Bluez88

    Joined:
    28 Nov 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks I will top up the pressure. Yeah the reason I was asking with amazon is it’s £80 cheaper for the ch and hw with fitting than just the hw. That’s why I was wondering if I can use it?
     
  13. ch4chi

    ch4chi

    Joined:
    21 Aug 2012
    Messages:
    19
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I purchased the HW and CH unit as i read it was compatible with the combi boiler i have, as you just had to wire up the CH part of it? It was on offer and at a significantly cheaper price then the CH only unit.
     
  14. ianmcd

    ianmcd

    Joined:
    15 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    19,959
    Thanks Received:
    7,770
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    it can be done but you have the wrong unit for your boiler
     
  15. ch4chi

    ch4chi

    Joined:
    21 Aug 2012
    Messages:
    19
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have the hive active heating and hot water thermostat, can that not be fitted to apply to just the CH?
     
  16. ianmcd

    ianmcd

    Joined:
    15 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    19,959
    Thanks Received:
    7,770
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    yes on your boiler it can be but you are lucky, if your boiler had low voltage switching it wouldnt , CH on from the hive to LR on the boiler
     
  17. ch4chi

    ch4chi

    Joined:
    21 Aug 2012
    Messages:
    19
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Lucky escape then I hope, just to confirm the boiler I have is a Greenstar 30si and comes with a DT20RF PROGRAMMER and wireless room digistat (clicky wheel type design) so will I get away with using the hive active heating and hot water thermostat or should I get the heating only to be on the safe side. Thanks in advance
     
  18. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
Loading...

Share This Page