Boiler not working with Hive

Discussion in 'Plumbing and Central Heating' started by Chris Paul Braeger, 31 Dec 2021.

Tags:
  1. Chris Paul Braeger

    Chris Paul Braeger

    Joined:
    31 Dec 2021
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi
    I recently swapped a Honeywell T40 thermostat with a Hive thermostat (Heating Only). The Hive thermostat is connected to the receiver and when I call for heat, the boiler does not fire (the burner light does not come on). However, the receivers Central Heating and Status lights are both solid green. The boiler is a Worcester Greenstar 27 CDI. As it was cold, I put the original Honeywell T40 back on and the heating worked immediately. I would really appreciate some help!! Thank you
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Sponsored Links
  3. milgo123

    milgo123

    Joined:
    22 Apr 2020
    Messages:
    57
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    As a test, with the T40 connected and turned up to maximum, does the Hive thermostat then control the heating? i.e when turned up above the current room temperature, does the boiler fire?
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  4. ianmcd

    ianmcd

    Joined:
    15 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    24,917
    Thanks Received:
    10,888
    Location:
    Livingston
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Temp insert put the wires in 1&3 both into the same terminal, does the boiler now fire ? how did you remove the T40
     
  5. Chris Paul Braeger

    Chris Paul Braeger

    Joined:
    31 Dec 2021
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi Milgo. Its only the T40 connected that controls the heating, the Hive is completely isolated. The T40 works fine when connected. Cheers
     
  6. Chris Paul Braeger

    Chris Paul Braeger

    Joined:
    31 Dec 2021
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi Ian. I tried this, but sadly, still nothing. Thank you though. Any other ideas would be gratefully received. Thanks
     
  7. Agile

    Agile

    Joined:
    26 Jun 2004
    Messages:
    64,088
    Thanks Received:
    4,604
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Did the boiler ever work via the Hive?

    If not then why do you think it has been correctly installed?
     
  8. Sponsored Links
  9. Chris Paul Braeger

    Chris Paul Braeger

    Joined:
    31 Dec 2021
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi Agile. The boiler has never worked with Hive. Despite following the installation guide correctly and all the status' telling me its working, I probably haven't installed it correctly, hence why Ive come on here to ask for help. The boiler works fine when I put the original Honeywell back on, so I assume Ive made a mistake somewhere
     
  10. Agile

    Agile

    Joined:
    26 Jun 2004
    Messages:
    64,088
    Thanks Received:
    4,604
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Those in the trade come across so many silly mistakes even when having been made by a professional.

    A common one is not to strip the insulation off before putting a wire into a screw terminal. Just not tightening the screw is another. Cutting though the actual wire is another which is why electricians are not encouraged to use a Stanley knife for cutting insulation.

    Testing the continuity across parts meant to be connected sometimes finds those faults.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  11. milgo123

    milgo123

    Joined:
    22 Apr 2020
    Messages:
    57
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just to clear as to what I suggested as a test... With the Hive receiver installed and connected to the boiler and the Hive thermostat paired/connected to the receiver.

    The T40 needs to be connected in its original place and wired as thought still in use. Now turn the T40 to its maximum temperature. What now happens when you turn up the Hive thermostat higher than the actual temperature displayed on it?

    Just out of interest can you show us how the T40 is wired up?
     
  12. Alec_t

    Alec_t

    Joined:
    18 Mar 2017
    Messages:
    805
    Thanks Received:
    141
    Location:
    Wales
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Is the Hive stat being used in stand-alone mode, or app-controlled mode?
     
  13. ianmcd

    ianmcd

    Joined:
    15 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    24,917
    Thanks Received:
    10,888
    Location:
    Livingston
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You have to link out the old T40 l&Sl
     
Loading...

Share This Page