1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Hive Thermostat Wiring (Honeywell T40 Thermostat, Vaillant Ecomax Boiler)

Discussion in 'Plumbing and Central Heating' started by njd, 1 Jan 2020.

  1. njd

    njd

    Joined:
    1 Jan 2020
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi, I have a Vaillant Ecomax boiler and Honeywell T40 Thermostat. I am hoping to wire the hive receiver using the existing wires from behind the thermostat. I've attached pictures of the existing wiring and would appreciate advice on how these wires should be connected to the Hive receiver, particularly the brown wire, which I believe is 'switch live'. This is what I've hopefully picked up from an internet search:

    Yellow and Green -> Hive earth

    Light Grey (Honeywell position 2) -> Hive N

    Dark Grey (Honeywell position 1) -> Hive L

    Brown (Honeywell position 3) -> Hive ?3

    ?also connect Hive 1 and L

    I've tried calling Hive technical support, who transfer me to British Gas, who then send me back to Hive technical support so I'm unfortunately not making much process. I've attached pictures of the existing setup and wiring guides Screen Shot 2019-12-31 at 14.47.09.png t40.png Screen Shot 2020-01-01 at 21.58.39.png and any help would be fantastic.


    Best wishes,


    Niall
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. The Novice

    The Novice

    Joined:
    26 Sep 2019
    Messages:
    1,679
    Thanks Received:
    471
    Location:
    North
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Sounds feasible to me.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  4. njd

    njd

    Joined:
    1 Jan 2020
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thank you. For the L to 1 connection, would this just be a jumper wire? Don't have much experience with this sorry (I paid for installation but my appointment has been scheduled multiple times by BG, now into Feb, and would like to get it going over winter)!

    BW,

    Niall
     
  5. ericmark

    ericmark

    Joined:
    27 Jan 2008
    Messages:
    14,754
    Thanks Received:
    1,310
    Location:
    Llanfair Caereinion, Nr Welshpool
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes jumper wire.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  6. ianmcd

    ianmcd

    Joined:
    15 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    14,198
    Thanks Received:
    4,682
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Do you have an existing time clock or programmer either separate or on board the boiler ?
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. ericmark

    ericmark

    Joined:
    27 Jan 2008
    Messages:
    14,754
    Thanks Received:
    1,310
    Location:
    Llanfair Caereinion, Nr Welshpool
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That is a good point. Often a time clock will turn off supply to thermostat, and you don't want that to happen, it will likely mess up the Hive unit, it does mess up Nest as the battery in the unit goes flat and until charged again it will not work.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  8. ianmcd

    ianmcd

    Joined:
    15 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    14,198
    Thanks Received:
    4,682
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    my point exactly @ericmark if the OP is using a switched live as a permanent live the hive will suffer unless existing is set to permanently on
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  9. Sponsored Links
Loading...

Share This Page