1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Help with hive

Discussion in 'Plumbing and Central Heating' started by bennettp23, 20 Aug 2021.

  1. bennettp23

    bennettp23

    Joined:
    6 Nov 2003
    Messages:
    323
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi,

    not sure if this is the best forum or gas.

    had an electrician in to rewire a kitchen. He removed a lot of ‘old’ wiring including that of the old thermostat as we have hive. However , now the pump does not come on for the CH but does for the hot water.

    anyone any idea of what might of happened please?

    I’m sure he will come back but he’s on holiday so wondering if I can check something.

    Thanks,

    Paul.
     
    Last edited: 20 Aug 2021
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    37,034
    Thanks Received:
    4,150
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    Does the boiler fire (and then go off) when you call for CH?
     
  4. bennettp23

    bennettp23

    Joined:
    6 Nov 2003
    Messages:
    323
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes. No flow.
     
  5. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    37,034
    Thanks Received:
    4,150
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    Right. I didn't expect that answer.

    Normally the pump is connected to the same wires as the boiler or wired from the boiler, so I am at a loss.

    Someone else may know.


    Assuming you have a three-port valve, then this is the wiring - with the proviso that the pump wires might come from the boiler.

    upload_2021-8-20_16-13-57.png
     
  6. bennettp23

    bennettp23

    Joined:
    6 Nov 2003
    Messages:
    323
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have two valves. I can here the valve changing when it calls for CH but no pump power. Very strange.
     
  7. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    37,034
    Thanks Received:
    4,150
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    Oh typical. Same difference though - without the Hive HW Off.

    upload_2021-8-20_16-21-40.png
     
  8. bennettp23

    bennettp23

    Joined:
    6 Nov 2003
    Messages:
    323
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Room stat is wireless give though. I can’t work it out why it wouldn’t work after removing cables.
     
  9. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    37,034
    Thanks Received:
    4,150
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    Yes I removed the thermostat on the first (wrong) diagram - just do the same.

    The problem is, if the valve works and switches on the boiler it should also switch on the pump.

    If there are separate wires from the valve to pump, presumably the CH one is the fault, BUT

    if the pump is wired from the boiler, then it could be a boiler fault - coincidences do happen.



    I will get you moved to Plumbing.
     
  10. Sponsored Links
  11. bennettp23

    bennettp23

    Joined:
    6 Nov 2003
    Messages:
    323
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just tried it again and boiler doesn’t fire for ch
     
  12. bennettp23

    bennettp23

    Joined:
    6 Nov 2003
    Messages:
    323
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I also think I can only hear the hw valve when that goes on and not the CH valve. It does nothing.
     
  13. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    37,034
    Thanks Received:
    4,150
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    Ah, in that case it could be a simple wiring problem.

    Check the Hive 4 goes to CH valve.
     
  14. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    37,034
    Thanks Received:
    4,150
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    I suspect that the 'electrician' has removed the thermostat cable and not changed the wiring to connect the CH on (Hive 4) to the valve.

    Do you have a wiring centre somewhere?
    If so, post a picture of the connections. It might be possible to tell.

    Switch off the power before removing the lid. Just copy and paste pictures.
     
  15. bennettp23

    bennettp23

    Joined:
    6 Nov 2003
    Messages:
    323
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have two boxes. One next to the pump and one now behind the plastered ceiling…

    I can see where this is going.
     
  16. bennettp23

    bennettp23

    Joined:
    6 Nov 2003
    Messages:
    323
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Or do you mean the wiring behind the hive controller? The one with the buttons on?
     
  17. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    37,034
    Thanks Received:
    4,150
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    It depends where the wiring is.

    If you have a wiring centre where all the wiring from the various parts come together for connection, it will likely be there.

    Like the row of connectors in the diagrams.
    Of course the numbers might not be the same in yours.

    upload_2021-8-20_19-30-36.png

    Of course, that might not be the problem.
     
Loading...

Share This Page