Help with Plumbing a double wall hung Sink and vanity unit.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I have some experience with plumbing a single wall hung sink and vanity unit, I brought the waste and hot/cold pipes up behind plasterboard and through the wall, pretty straightforward. I am now looking at fitting double wall hung sink unit, therefore my plan is to bring the hot and cold up behind the plasterboard and through the wall, then add a t piece to allow both hots and colds to be fed. Were I'm struggling is how I run the waste for both, I thought i would have done the same as single, then used a mcalppine double sink kit, but when I look at these, they are only suitable for 40mm, not 32mm as required.

Could you please verify the above suggestion around feeding the hot and cold and I would appreciate any suggestions on how I approach the waste for both sinks, does each sink need a trap? etc..

Many Thanks
Cameron.

Sponsored Links
1. Basins generally use 32 mm (1 1/4") waste pipe and traps. As you say, McAlpine only make the double ones for sinks, which are 40 mm (1 1/2").
2. The basins each need a trap, although you might consider using a running trap on 50 mm pipe as non-preferred alternative.
3. So, trap to each basin. Come off the traps in 32 mm, then either:
3a. Off basin furthest from stack in 32 mm down and across toward basin nearer stack.
3b. Off basin nearer stack, down in 32 mm, then towards stack in 40 mm, with 32 mm pipe from other basin coming in to end of 40 mm pipe.
4. If the run to the stack is long, consider uprating to 50 mm pipe at an appropriate point.
5. With respect to the hot and cold, sounds fine. You should add isolation valves. Given how close the basins are you could fit them before the tees to cover both basins, bit it might be easier to fit one to each hot and cold to each basin. Use decent quality full bore valves.