Help with securing my home

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello all,

Posting this with a heavy heart. There has been a spate of burglaries around our town and our home of 3 years was the latest victim yesterday.
Thieves accessed through the front door (image attached) when we were away for couple of hours. They were mainly after jewelry and got away with a metal safe for that reason.

Installing a burglar alarm (& CCTV) was on my list of things to do after renovation and extension but thieves got me before I could carry this out.

Can you please advise:
1. The front door locks. I've Yale locks as you might be able to see on the image. Can just the keys be changed on them easily? Or do I need a new lock? FYI, the door has 2 extra locks at top/ bottom (and we forgot to double lock them before going out).. :(
All the locks are working OK. They used screwdrivers to squeeze the lock out of its slot.

2. House Alarm: I've no experience of this. Can you please advise the good ones including cost? I am hoping I should be able to install them as I am a keen DIYer and have done most things around my house including some electrical.

3. CCTV near the roof overlooking the entrance: What is the recommendation? Would you advise to buy a motion sensing CCTV (and recorder)?

Sorry for the long post and thank you so much for your help in advance..
9fcd.jpg
[/URL]

Uploaded with ImageShack.us[/img]

Sponsored Links
Replacing the lock barrel is fairly easy, take the screw out of the side of the door which holds the bottom of the barrel in, put a key in, turn it slowly whilst pulling and it should come out.

your local police office may offer a free crime prevention visit

Be aware the scrotes may come back in a few weeks in the hope of getting more shiny stuff that you've just replaced with the insurance money.

If your front door and frame is so weak it can be popped with a screwdriver it needs to be reinforced or replaced.