1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Help with setting on DT90E stat please..

Discussion in 'Plumbing and Central Heating' started by xpeterpx, 19 Dec 2013.

  1. xpeterpx

    xpeterpx

    Joined:
    18 Dec 2013
    Messages:
    66
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just need a bit more advice on what my settings should be after I've installed it following the kind wiring advice here:

    http://www.diynot.com/forums/plumbing/swap-honeywell-t6360b-dial-to-dt90e-digital.387092/

    Finding the instructions provided a bit baffling so wonder if there is anyone more familiar with this stat.

    1.I can only seem to have either the on/off symbol or the heat demand symbol displyed with the room temp even though the boiler is off.Should I just have the room temp displayed if the boiler is off?

    2.'Set temp inquiry' is set to 5 deg (factory set) should this be different if so what shoudl it be?

    3.How do I know what temp setting my boiler will come on at and switch off at ?

    Its operating a Vailiant combi boiler in a standard 3 bed house if that helps

    Thanks for the ongoing advice.
    Pete
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. D_Hailsham

    D_Hailsham

    Joined:
    18 Oct 2007
    Messages:
    10,587
    Thanks Received:
    1,343
    Location:
    Kent
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That seems strange. Normally, i.e no buttons pressed, the stat will show the actual room temperature. The boiler should be on if the flame is showing.

    Do you have a multimeter, and know how to use it? If so measure the voltage between neutral and terminals A and B (timer on, stat off). If you find that there is 0Vac on A and 240Vac on B it might be worth swapping the wires round and seeing if that has any effect. In theory it shouldn't.

    Do you mean that if you press the up or down button the stat shows 5C?

    If so, the stat is set to only turn the boiler on if the room temperature drops below 5C. Presumably you would like the house warmer than that! ;) If so, press the top button until the display shows the temperature you would like, normally 20-21C.

    One you have set the required temperature the boiler will come on if the temperature drops below the set valve and maintain it to within about half a degree. This is dependent on the heating times set on the programmer/timer.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  4. xpeterpx

    xpeterpx

    Joined:
    18 Dec 2013
    Messages:
    66
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for the quick reply.
    On quote 2 regarding the set temp enquiry figure-something not right as I cannot seem to change this parameter at all using the up/down button
     
  5. D_Hailsham

    D_Hailsham

    Joined:
    18 Oct 2007
    Messages:
    10,587
    Thanks Received:
    1,343
    Location:
    Kent
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If you don't have it, download the Installer Guide

    Enter the Installer mode and check all parameters are as listed.

    You can reset to factory conditions by setting Parameter FS to 1.
     
  6. xpeterpx

    xpeterpx

    Joined:
    18 Dec 2013
    Messages:
    66
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for the ongoing help.

    I've put the old dial stat back on as I'm not happy with not being able to control the new stat as I'd like.

    I plan to try again tomorrow with a fresh reset as suggested but what if the same thing happens?
    Any thoughts on my actual wiring not being correct or able to accomodate a digital stat?
    Looks like the original installer just used standard 3 core.
     
  7. xpeterpx

    xpeterpx

    Joined:
    18 Dec 2013
    Messages:
    66
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    sorry double post!
     
  8. Sponsored Links
  9. gas112

    gas112

    Joined:
    27 Oct 2009
    Messages:
    22,510
    Thanks Received:
    8,031
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Have you got the batteries in correct or tried new batteries the ones in box may have been laying for a while if not it sounds like a duff stat
     
  10. xpeterpx

    xpeterpx

    Joined:
    18 Dec 2013
    Messages:
    66
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    cheers wil check again

    One more question please..
    If the set temp for the heating to come on is say 20 deg does the stat maintain the temp at that all the time/constantly until its switched off.

    Just curious
     
  11. D_Hailsham

    D_Hailsham

    Joined:
    18 Oct 2007
    Messages:
    10,587
    Thanks Received:
    1,343
    Location:
    Kent
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The stat will turn the heating on if the room temperature is below the set value and turn it off when it reaches the required temperature. It will then turn the heating on and off to maintain the temperature within about + or - half a degree.

    The stat does have a feature call TPI which will cycle the boiler on and off before the set temperature is reached. You can read about it Here.

    I was going to suggest new batteries, but gas112 beat me to it. You should always use good quality batteries, preferably Duracell.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  12. xpeterpx

    xpeterpx

    Joined:
    18 Dec 2013
    Messages:
    66
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Excellent thanks.
    All up and running now thanks to you guys.
    One last thing,this model still clicks on/off for gas demand even though the boiler timer is off.?
    Sound normal or have I found my next issue to investigate!
     
  13. gas112

    gas112

    Joined:
    27 Oct 2009
    Messages:
    22,510
    Thanks Received:
    8,031
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Perfectly normal
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  14. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
Loading...

Share This Page