High Pressure in unvented system

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi. I hope someone can shed a little light as too what the problem we have just developed.
We have a Megaflo unvented system, with a 2 year old Worcester Bosch boiler, serviced every year.
The system as worked perfect for years with water pressure sitting at 1 bar with no problems.
I have noticed that with either just hot water or central heating the system pressure is creeping up over a few days, to a point where when the system is cold it as increased from 2 - 3 bar.
I have isolated the filling loop and the problem still occurs, have also had the expansion vessel checked and recharged..!
Presuming that mains high pressure is somehow leaking across to the pressurised hot water side and causing the pressure to build up.
I am an engineer by trade so I understand how the system should work.
Anyone shed any light on to what the other possible problems could be etc.
Once I have an idea, I can then call in the professionals to fix the problem.
Thanks in advance.

Sponsored Links
you don't say which Worcester boiler you have the model would help

Opps sorry its a Worcester bosch Greenstar 18i. Just a standard boiler, two years old and fully serviced.

have also had the expansion vessel checked and recharged..!

When you say checked, has the air valve been pushed in to check that there inst water at the air side of the diaphragm? If air was just pumped into a leaking vessel, it may not reveal that problem. I assume that there is water coming from your safety pressure valve when your system is running. Could also be some sort of blockage near the expansion vessel, though unlikely.

Sponsored Links