1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Hikvision DVR update

Discussion in 'Alarms, CCTV & Telephones' started by james_help, 31 Jul 2020.

  1. james_help

    james_help

    Joined:
    14 Aug 2007
    Messages:
    163
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Evening all, I have a hikvision cctv system currently all is well no issue 2 years old but I’ve just realised the software etc has not been updated since it’s been installed. Is it worth updating or shall I just let it be?
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. T1GERIII

    T1GERIII

    Joined:
    19 Jul 2020
    Messages:
    20
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If there is an update available. Update update update (y)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. secureiam

    secureiam

    Joined:
    20 Jun 2014
    Messages:
    4,431
    Thanks Received:
    533
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    if its working fine don fix what isnt broke, if you need a feature be very careful as some DVR's as you need to match models very specifically.


    if you are on a K series be careful with upgraded to some versions of version 4 interface, especially if its only 4 channels
     
    Last edited: 31 Jul 2020
    • Like Like x 1
  5. james_help

    james_help

    Joined:
    14 Aug 2007
    Messages:
    163
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    thanks mate. This is why I was vary to update. I have the 7200 series
     
  6. secureiam

    secureiam

    Joined:
    20 Jun 2014
    Messages:
    4,431
    Thanks Received:
    533
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Make a note of the version you have and make suire its available to flash back, default after flashing seems to be being advised a lot now on the DVR/ NVR's.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. Sponsored Links
  8. scott1980

    scott1980

    Joined:
    3 Mar 2006
    Messages:
    496
    Thanks Received:
    93
    Location:
    Manchester
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I've seen some strange problems arrise on old machines that have been fine where a firmware update has sorted it but as above, you need to make sure you get the correct firmware for your machine. Newer units will reject incorrect firmware in my experience, but it is possible to brick older models. Also, make sure that you have a genuine UK machine. Trying to upgrade a grey import (ebay, amazon etc are full of them) will proably fail and leave you with a knackered DVR.
     
  9. secureiam

    secureiam

    Joined:
    20 Jun 2014
    Messages:
    4,431
    Thanks Received:
    533
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    There have ben cases where Hik have released firmware and it hasnt worked for some units even though it was supposed to, the version 4 GUI interface is a classic example, there was a specific release for a 4 channel NVR and it didnt work. The system couldnt cope with the demands of that firmware. According to HIK there werent different variants of that specific model. It was a very specific model, I had to undo the mess the end user got in when the company they were with replaced a HDD that was faulty and they decided to flash it up to the lastest available.
     
  10. scott1980

    scott1980

    Joined:
    3 Mar 2006
    Messages:
    496
    Thanks Received:
    93
    Location:
    Manchester
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I used to have a relatively easy life before Hikvision came along. Had a high school back end of last year, brand new install; modular intercom, ANPR cams and a 96 NVR all with firmware problems. It's decent when it works but when it doesn't...
     
  11. james_help

    james_help

    Joined:
    14 Aug 2007
    Messages:
    163
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks all. I think. I will give the firmware update a miss don’t really want to mess up the DVR. I am glad I asked you guys before I attempted anything. Hope you are all enjoying the heat :)
     
  12. Craigius

    Craigius

    Joined:
    5 Aug 2020
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    As others have said make sure you do a back up for the current operating system before you do the update just in case.
     
Loading...

Share This Page