Hiring a mini digger to pull up concrete drive

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello there I've not posted in a while, I've been toying with the idea of hiring a mini digger next week for pulling up concrete drive and digging out front garden to make one big loose stone drive, I've never used one before so would this be a good idea ??

Sponsored Links
Not unless you get a pecker with it. A 1.5/3 ton/micro digger does not have the power to pull concrete up if it's not already broken up.
Diggers are not that hard to use but are hard to use well, don't expect to be able to grade well etc.

Need a breaker rather than a saw IMO. If you've never used a digger think carefully before hiring one. Pull a track off, then that's ££££'s. Hit a gas or electric service, more £££££'s. They are not very stable, and can be lethal in the wrong hands.

Sponsored Links
Those baby diggers are loads of fun and fairly easy to be average with (digging holes= v easy down to a metre. Raking up the last of the spoil from a flat area = far more difficult). And the more space you have between where you are working and anything valuable/fragile (like your house, next doors' house, drainpipes and other buried services, public highway) the better. And (up here anyway) it is cheaper to hire one and a pecker than it is to get a hand-operated windypick and a power pack. If your concrete is more than about 2" thick and on a good base then you'll struggle with just the digger.

A 1.5 tonner will pi$$ the average drive. All you need do is get the front bucket under the corner and rotate the bucket. Once the concrete is lifted, either break it with a sledge or just hoof it up and let it fall.