Hiring painter to paint external house

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi guys,

Im thinking of selling next year and want to make the place look more 'cared for'. The outside is white painted tyrolean render and is starting to look a little tatty (no idea when it was last painted - probably many many years ago). Im a complete novice at this, but I think a couple of coats of good quality external paint will make the place look really nice.

Im going to get some quotes, but Id like any advice you guys have on what to ask a decorator (what type of paint they use, what methods, credentials etc...).

Unfortunately Ive missed all the sunny weather, so I presume its going to be a lot harder in cold/damp conditions (impossible?). I drove past another cottage that was being painted using some sort of spray. Is this the fastest/cheapest way of doing it? Will they have to use scaffolding to do it, or will they just use ladders? (its a small terraced cottage. I presume if they need to hire scaffolding then it will be much more expensive).

Any advice/suggestions appreciated.
Thanks

Sponsored Links
They can normally do it off a ladder, what colour will you go for?

Post a picture of the front of your house.

Andy

Hi HERTSDRAINAGE2010
Id like to go for white. Im mid terrace, and the neighbouring properties are looking pretty tatty too. I was thinking of asking them if we all get our houses painted together (we might get a discount) but theyre both elderly neighbours, so I doubt they will have the money/inclination.

What do you think? Do you think they can just use ladders? What do you think the sort of cost Id be looking at and what factors will play on price?

Thanks

Ladders can be used for heights up to first floor level, i.e. gutter level, and work is for a short periods and allowing the user to maintain a hand hold and not overstretch, and ladder should be secure.