1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Hive dual channel receiver wiring

Discussion in 'Plumbing and Central Heating' started by JeraXO, 21 Dec 2018.

  1. JeraXO

    JeraXO

    Joined:
    21 Dec 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi,

    Just moved into a new home and planning to replace the existing timer, for heating and hot water, with the Hive dual channel receiver, thermostat and hub.
    There doesn't seem to an existing thermostat in the house, only the timer.
    The attached images are of the existing wiring and the diagram on the back of the timer. I note that the mount will fit the Hive receiver perfectly.
    Is it feasible to transfer the wires, like for like, to the Hive mount?
    Any help will be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance. 20181220_183819.jpg 20181220_184206.jpg
     
  2. 75pete

    75pete

    Joined:
    9 Apr 2008
    Messages:
    649
    Thanks Received:
    59
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If I was you, I add the make & model of your boiler
     
  3. JeraXO

    JeraXO

    Joined:
    21 Dec 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for the response.
    The boiler is a Potterton Promax SL.

    20181204_175455.jpg
     
  4. screech

    screech

    Joined:
    21 Oct 2008
    Messages:
    699
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Straight swap
     
  5. Sponsored Links
  6. JeraXO

    JeraXO

    Joined:
    21 Dec 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks guys.
    The straight swap worked a treat. (y)
     
  7. stevo999

    stevo999

    Joined:
    23 Feb 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    West Midlands
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi

    I've got a similar setup to the above and have also bought the Hive with dual HW & CH controls to replace the existing Drayton control and wired thermostat. I tried to set it all up last weekend and everything was going well until I tried to replace the thermostat.

    I set up the hive hub, changed the receiver over and tested the manual push button controls for CH & HW and both fired the boiler up OK.

    When I then removed the old wired thermostat and set up the wireless hive version, the hot water control on the hive receiver just stopped working (remotely and by pressing the button manually) and the option to control the HW was not available in the Hive app or via the thermostat. CH controls were still ok and could set the temp via the thermostat and switch on/off, but just nothing for HW.

    The wires from the old thermostat were all terminated individually in single terminal blocks & insulation tape and then shoved back into the wall hidden behind the new hive thermostat.

    So must be something to do with the thermostat wiring, but have no idea what or why if the CH was still working OK as the thermostat only controls the heating doesn't it?!

    After wasting 4 hours only to have to put the original controls back in place, it was a little frustrating to say the least!! It did at least all still work when re-connecting the original kit, but would like to start using the Hive controls that I paid over £100 for!

    Any help much appreciated!

    Thanks
    Steve
     
  8. ianmcd

    ianmcd

    Joined:
    15 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    15,206
    Thanks Received:
    5,301
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    you would be better starting a new post with your own circumstances if you want the correct answer
     
  9. stevo999

    stevo999

    Joined:
    23 Feb 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    West Midlands
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ok thanks will do that
     
    • Like Like x 1
  10. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
Sponsored Links
Loading...

Share This Page