Hive ecotec sustain wiring help

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by honda3, 14 Nov 2021.

  1. honda3

    honda3

    Joined:
    28 Dec 2017
    Messages:
    17
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi would like some instructions please on how to wire up the hive receiver to the valiant ecotec sustain. Thanks IMG-20211114-WA0009.jpg IMG-20211114-WA0008.jpg IMG-20211114-WA0007.jpg IMG-20211114-WA0006.jpg IMG-20211114-WA0005.jpg
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. honda3

    honda3

    Joined:
    28 Dec 2017
    Messages:
    17
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Forgot these of the receiver
     

    Attached Files:

  4. flameport

    flameport

    Joined:
    10 Mar 2007
    Messages:
    10,092
    Thanks Received:
    2,037
    Location:
    Poole, Dorset
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The Hive receiver replaces the Esi receiver you currently have.
    It's not necessary to open the boiler casing, or alter anything inside.

    Unclear what the picture of the other wires is for, or why you have a backplate with wires attached when it's not fixed to anything.
     
  5. honda3

    honda3

    Joined:
    28 Dec 2017
    Messages:
    17
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    (backplate)2nd lot of pictures are from the hive receiver.

    I thought i had to open boiler to install the hive receiver wires?
     
  6. flameport

    flameport

    Joined:
    10 Mar 2007
    Messages:
    10,092
    Thanks Received:
    2,037
    Location:
    Poole, Dorset
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You use the same wires that are currently connected to that Esi receiver.
     
  7. honda3

    honda3

    Joined:
    28 Dec 2017
    Messages:
    17
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    What next.? Thanks IMG-20211114-WA0016.jpg
     
  8. Sponsored Links
  9. ericmark

    ericmark

    Joined:
    27 Jan 2008
    Messages:
    18,903
    Thanks Received:
    1,776
    Location:
    Llanfair Caereinion, Nr Welshpool
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So you have a boiler with terminals marked bus and a thermostat marked OpenTherm why down grade to Hive?
     
  10. honda3

    honda3

    Joined:
    28 Dec 2017
    Messages:
    17
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Its at my parents house. They prefer setting temp from phone.
     
  11. flameport

    flameport

    Joined:
    10 Mar 2007
    Messages:
    10,092
    Thanks Received:
    2,037
    Location:
    Poole, Dorset
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The Esi backplate is removed, the Hive plate attached to the wall, and the wires are attached to the Hive backplate.
    The only difference is that the wire currently in 2 connects to 3 on the Hive. All the other wires are the same.

    It's not connected, and would be a 1% saving if it was and actually worked with that boiler, which is far from certain.
     
  12. honda3

    honda3

    Joined:
    28 Dec 2017
    Messages:
    17
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for the replies. will give it a go sometime in the week
     
  13. honda3

    honda3

    Joined:
    28 Dec 2017
    Messages:
    17
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Sorted thanks for the help
     
  14. Gasguru

    Gasguru

    Joined:
    9 Sep 2005
    Messages:
    12,668
    Thanks Received:
    3,407
    Location:
    Sussex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thats Vaillants proprietary serial comms...eBUS and not compatible with Opentherm.
    Unofficially you can import a bridge from the Netherlands but AFAIK it voids the warranty.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
Loading...

Share This Page