Hive install with Drayton LP241 !

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Have just brought Hive to self install but have run into problems !!
took the Drayton LP241 programmer off the wall hoping to find wires where i thought they would be but No !
now i'm no expert on electrics but looked into this before buying it and it looked quite easy
but i'm now stumped and confused with the wiring can anyone help or steer me in the right direction have attached some pics
thanks

Attachments

• lp241.jpeg
    lp241.jpeg
    166.4 KB · Views: 1,541
  • lp241wiring.jpeg
    lp241wiring.jpeg
    251 KB · Views: 2,481
  • thermo.jpeg
    thermo.jpeg
    143.3 KB · Views: 1,132
  • thermowiring.jpeg
    thermowiring.jpeg
    157.4 KB · Views: 1,598
  • mainbox.jpeg
    mainbox.jpeg
    312.7 KB · Views: 1,601
  • mainboxwiring.jpeg
    mainboxwiring.jpeg
    222.7 KB · Views: 1,571
  • ????.jpeg
    ????.jpeg
    280.8 KB · Views: 1,144
Sponsored Links
First of all, you will need a Hive Dual Channel Version of the Hive. The wiring of which is the exactly the same as the existing programmer. They are a straight swap, as you can see from the diagrams below. The Hive receiver simply replaces the existing programmer.

D.JPG

Hive.JPG

The most difficult part is decommissioning the existing room thermostat. Because the Hive also carries out the functions of the room thermostat, the old wired thermostat needs to be decommissioned to prevent it overriding the Hive. It can't simply be disconnected as this would leave the heating wiring 'open circuit' and it will not operate.

The best way to decommission a thermostat is to trace the old thermostat cable back to its origin. So looking at your photo below.

stat.jpeg