1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Hive not controlling Ideal Logic+ Combi

Discussion in 'Plumbing and Central Heating' started by idw, 26 Apr 2020.

  1. idw

    idw

    Joined:
    26 Apr 2020
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi,

    I followed the advice of a number of posts on this forum to install my Hive thermostat on my Ideal Logic+ Combi boiler. I think I've wired everything correctly but when I trigger the heating I hear a relay click in the Hive Receiver but the boiler doesn't switch on.


    The wiring is currently:
    • Boiler Earth --> Reciever Earth
    • Boiler Neutral --> Receiver Neutral
    • Boiler Live --> Receiver Live
    • Switch 1 (black) --> Receiver 3
    • Switch 2 (red) --> Receiver 1
    I'm hoping that I've missed something obvious but I'm wondering if it's something to do with the wireless timer (Ideal RT1) that was installed in the boiler before I started. I disconnected the two plugs, removed the unit and replaced it with a blanking plate. Is there something else I missed?

    Thanks in advance,
    Ian
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. CBW

    CBW

    Joined:
    26 Sep 2019
    Messages:
    9,633
    Thanks Received:
    2,633
    Location:
    North
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi Ian,

    Are you intending on carrying out essential safety checks afterwards? You have removed the cover on your boiler which forms part of the room seal on the appliance, which needs a regulation 26.9 check, as it’s classed as working on the appliance.

    Thanks.
     
  4. idw

    idw

    Joined:
    26 Apr 2020
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi Chris,

    Apologies, if I've made a mistake here. I thought that Hive thermostats were sold with the option for consumers to install them themselves. There were a number of other threads here about self installation which is why I asked.
     
  5. Johnmdc

    Johnmdc

    Joined:
    5 Jun 2015
    Messages:
    350
    Thanks Received:
    102
    Location:
    Bolton
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The wires you disconnected from the RT1 would have been live and neutral, and 2 switch wires. The 2 switch wires need joining together with a connector.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  6. CBW

    CBW

    Joined:
    26 Sep 2019
    Messages:
    9,633
    Thanks Received:
    2,633
    Location:
    North
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No worries, you’re not the first and won’t be the last ;). Consumers can install them, however not all combi boilers require these checks, such as some potterton and Baxi boilers.
     
  7. idw

    idw

    Joined:
    26 Apr 2020
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I've got it working now thanks to Johnmdc advice. I figured the easiest thing was just to put the RT1 back in and set it to constant on, and take the batteries out of its wireless thermostat which has made it all behave as expected.

    Although obviously I never touched it in the first place! ;)
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
    • Like Like x 1
  8. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
  9. Sponsored Links
Loading...

Share This Page