1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

HIVE wiring help

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by Tuharax, 9 Feb 2021.

  1. Tuharax

    Tuharax

    Joined:
    9 Feb 2021
    Messages:
    14
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi,

    https://community.screwfix.com/threads/hive-installation-with-biasi-combi-boiler.203696/

    I am in the same situation as that aged old thread. I know where wires go from the terminal blocks to my hive. If you see the pics posted and draw coloured wires. I just need to know what wires I buy to do L/N to my hive and then the control wires from hive to the bottom block. I know nothing about wiring. Would this be 2 core for the L/N from my hive to the terminal block? Then a lead wire for the ch on and ch off?
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    37,093
    Thanks Received:
    4,164
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    Doesn't really matter.

    Either two 3-core flexible cables or one 5-core cable.
    Each cable will have an earth wire connected at the boiler although not necessary for the Hive.
     
  4. Tuharax

    Tuharax

    Joined:
    9 Feb 2021
    Messages:
    14
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks. Was going to get
    https://www.screwfix.com/p/prysmian-6242y-grey-2-5mm-twin-earth-cable-10m-coil/82572 To do top connector box as it has the L/N/Earth

    Then crate three wires from this for the bottom connector
    https://www.screwfix.com/p/time-6491x-brown-1-core-1-5mm-conduit-cable-100m-drum/63636

    would that work?
     
  5. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    37,093
    Thanks Received:
    4,164
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    • Like Like x 1
  6. Tuharax

    Tuharax

    Joined:
    9 Feb 2021
    Messages:
    14
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ah so I have 5 connections there! Live N L earth then the two connector blocks all off one wire! thanks
     
  7. ericmark

    ericmark

    Joined:
    27 Jan 2008
    Messages:
    18,269
    Thanks Received:
    1,704
    Location:
    Llanfair Caereinion, Nr Welshpool
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It does depend on boiler, you say "same situation as that aged old thread" the main point in the thread was if 1 and 3 or 1 and 2 used in the boiler as seems it has a built in time clock. Some boilers have the power and control opposite sides of the boiler OT-lodgic.jpg if that is the case then two flexes seems a better option.
     
  8. Tuharax

    Tuharax

    Joined:
    9 Feb 2021
    Messages:
    14
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It’s exactly the same boiler. He had the additional issue he had the wrong hive as well one that does hot water and CH. I have the single so in I should be ok. I will remove the bottom wires from the top terminal replace with live/nuet/ earth from the ‘new 5 core. Wire these into the hive appropriate ports. Then remove the link from the bottom one and wire in two spare ones to the top of the block just not sure which goes where think the red wire one needs a wire as the manual says wire 1 and 3 for external controls.

    https://www.biasi.co.uk/assets/public/user_manual/24/Riva Compact_User and Installation.pdf


     
  9. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    37,093
    Thanks Received:
    4,164
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
  10. Sponsored Links
  11. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    37,093
    Thanks Received:
    4,164
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    No, you don't remove wires - just add the Hive L, N, &E

    Yes, 1 & 3 to the two terminals where the link wire was.


    Like the screwfix forum picture but take out the link wire.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  12. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    37,093
    Thanks Received:
    4,164
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
  13. Tuharax

    Tuharax

    Joined:
    9 Feb 2021
    Messages:
    14
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ah I did wonder about this the boiler still needs power so I just keep the existing wires in the top block and also add mine in with the others to the bottom connection got it.

    thanks
     
  14. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    37,093
    Thanks Received:
    4,164
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    Yes.


    I haven't read the Screfix thread so it might have been answered:

    What are you using to control the heating at the moment?
     
  15. Tuharax

    Tuharax

    Joined:
    9 Feb 2021
    Messages:
    14
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  16. ericmark

    ericmark

    Joined:
    27 Jan 2008
    Messages:
    18,269
    Thanks Received:
    1,704
    Location:
    Llanfair Caereinion, Nr Welshpool
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    As said before I have looked at page 30 of the PDF you link to where it shows connection to room thermostat and frost thermostat, both can clearly turn on the heating, however it seems likely the room thermostat connects through the built in timer, where as the frost thermostat likely bypasses the timer, so option is built in timers always on and use room thermostat connection removing link, or timer always off and connect to frost thermostat or remove the link then does not matter what timer is set to and use frost thermostat connections. There is no right or wrong way, they will all work.
     
  17. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
Loading...

Share This Page