1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Help please for wiring a Hive receiver - thanks!

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by Fiona Walker, 12 May 2021.

Tags:
  1. Fiona Walker

    Fiona Walker

    Joined:
    12 May 2021
    Messages:
    13
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi. I am fitting a new Hive and have what I hope will be a simple question :)

    I need to replace the existing control unit (which is hard wired to my Alpha boiler) with the Hive controller

    I can re-use the same wall plate which currently has blue going to the N terminal, brown going to the L terminal, no wires on terminal 1 or terminal 2 and then grey going to terminal 3 and black to terminal 4. Earth wire goes to earth.

    When i take off the existing controller from the wall plate and replace it with the Hive controller, the Hive controller lights up at the appropriate time (so no issue with the Hive connecting to the thermostat) but the boiler doesn't fire up?

    Can anyone tell me how I need to swap the wires around on the wall plate to make the Hive controller talk to the Alpha boiler please

    Thank you very much indeed .................
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    36,374
    Thanks Received:
    4,067
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    Which model is your present controller?

    Have you the dual channel Hive?
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. CBW

    CBW

    Joined:
    26 Sep 2019
    Messages:
    6,968
    Thanks Received:
    1,850
    Location:
    North
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    What boiler, Is it a Combi boiler? Do you have a timer, if yes, This will need to be set to constantly on and Hive will override. Did you replace a thermostat or a programmer?
     
  5. Fiona Walker

    Fiona Walker

    Joined:
    12 May 2021
    Messages:
    13
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi Chris. It is a combi boiler. I have replaced the thermostat (with a Hive one) and the controller (with a Hive one). The issue is that when the Hive light goes green on the controller (wanting to start the boiler) is that the message isn't getting to the boiler, so it doesn't fire up. I just need to know which wires coming in to the wall plate need to go to which terminal. Thanks :). Fiona
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  6. Fiona Walker

    Fiona Walker

    Joined:
    12 May 2021
    Messages:
    13
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The current controller (the one that I am replacing) is a Drayton Tempus 7 which currently has blue going to the N terminal, brown going to the L terminal, no wires on terminal 1 or terminal 2 and then grey going to terminal 3 and black to terminal 4. Earth wire goes to earth. I think I need to change the order of the wires around for the Hive controller to work??? Thanks
     
  7. CBW

    CBW

    Joined:
    26 Sep 2019
    Messages:
    6,968
    Thanks Received:
    1,850
    Location:
    North
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Drayton Tempus 7 appears to be a dual channel, eg heating and hot water? Do you have single or dual channel Hive?
     
  8. Johnmdc

    Johnmdc

    Joined:
    5 Jun 2015
    Messages:
    326
    Thanks Received:
    85
    Location:
    Bolton
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Move the black wire that is currently in terminal 4 to terminal 1.
    Done.
     
  9. Fiona Walker

    Fiona Walker

    Joined:
    12 May 2021
    Messages:
    13
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi Johnmdc. I had REALLY hoped that your suggestion would work but having moved the black wire from T4 to T1, boiler still doesn't fire up (the thermostat is on full and the green light is on on the hive controller) ??? Sorry. Any other suggestions please. Thank you so much
     
  10. Sponsored Links
  11. CBW

    CBW

    Joined:
    26 Sep 2019
    Messages:
    6,968
    Thanks Received:
    1,850
    Location:
    North
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Fiona, can you post photo of wiring and Hive receiver? You said you replaced thermostat with a Hive and controller with a Hive, do you have 2 separate Hive’s or just the one? Also the existing thermostat, you need to either set to maximum or join live and switched together.
     
    Last edited: 13 May 2021
  12. Johnmdc

    Johnmdc

    Joined:
    5 Jun 2015
    Messages:
    326
    Thanks Received:
    85
    Location:
    Bolton
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I didn't get onto it that you had removed a thermostat.
    As Chris pointed out you can't just remove it you need to join the live and switched wires together to complete the circuit.
    Also as others have asked can you confirm that you have the single channel Hive receiver.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  13. Fiona Walker

    Fiona Walker

    Joined:
    12 May 2021
    Messages:
    13
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi Chris_W. Photos attached of existing Drayton (front and back)/ photos of Hive (front and back) and photo of the current Drayton in situ hard wired off to the Alpha boiler. Dratyon in situ at the moment.jpg . thanks everyone Drayton wall plate with unit removed.jpg Hive controller.jpg Hive controller rear.jpg Drayton rear.jpg
     
  14. Johnmdc

    Johnmdc

    Joined:
    5 Jun 2015
    Messages:
    326
    Thanks Received:
    85
    Location:
    Bolton
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Okay your old clock was a 2 channel clock so it's a bit different to the Hive.
    What you need to do is put the black wire in terminal 3, the grey wire (which won't be doing anything) in terminal 4.
    Then you need to put a short piece of wire in to link L and terminal 1.
    What have you done with the wire where the old room thermostat was? As I said before you can't just disconnect it.
    It needs linking out.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  15. CBW

    CBW

    Joined:
    26 Sep 2019
    Messages:
    6,968
    Thanks Received:
    1,850
    Location:
    North
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    As suspected and John says, you’re Drayton timeclock is a 2 channel (for heating and hot water control), which is why I asked if your Alpha is a combi boiler. John has provided with what you need to regards wiring, if you don’t have a combi boiler, you will lose any hot water timing periods, and consequently no hot water. If it’s a combi, you’ll be fine to follow John’s wiring and set existing thermostat to maximum or link out.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  16. Fiona Walker

    Fiona Walker

    Joined:
    12 May 2021
    Messages:
    13
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    John and Chris. Thank you so much - the wiring suggestion has worked and the Hive now talks to the boiler! Your advice has been invaluable. Thank you again. Fiona :)
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
    • Like Like x 1
  17. Fiona Walker

    Fiona Walker

    Joined:
    12 May 2021
    Messages:
    13
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I wasn't sure what you meant about linking out the old thermostat so I have just set it to maximum.
     
    • Like Like x 1
Loading...

Share This Page